- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Sunday, Jul. 23, 2006
8:50 P.M.

As I walked out that door
For the very last time
Your empty gaze burned me to the core
As if I had committed some awful crime

You were once so smitten
So much more than content
Now you*re love ridden
And our time together has been spent

My heart continues to break
Long after you are gone
I don*t know how much more I can take
This emptiness just feels wrong

You*ve become the poison in my veins
And this poison won*t let me go
You*ve brought so much emotional pain
You were once the fertilizer that helped this seed grow

You once loved me for my faults
And became the focus of my dreams
Now you chastise me like an adult
Who's turning away from it*s own child*s screams

I know I should cut you loose
I know I should say goodbye
But part of me wants to push through
And give this just one more try

Willing to defend how I feel
Knowing it*s so much more than lust
But you treat me like a piece meal
And act surprised when I put up a fuss

It*s as if you just want me to grovel
Grovel and cry my way back home
You get your kick*s watching me crawl
Knowing in the end I will end up alone

I would have given you the world
After you spoiled me with just a taste
But nothing I can give will make me your girl
And you tossed me aside in a moment of haste

I never wanted to let you down
God knows I never planned to fall
But now that you*re not around
All I want to do is call

I wish I could just call you
And tell you to just drop in
But it*s time to face the truth
I can*t get you out from under my skin

I know where the road to happiness ends
And I won*t forget this gift you*ve given me
But I can*t pretend to be just your friend
And deep down I know you still agree

We*ve come so far
And there*s nothing left for me to say
I see you for more than what you are
And you*ll never see me that same way

Burning this bridge
May be a blessing in disguise
Maybe by overcoming this mountain ridge
Will allow me to finally open up my green eyes

I could promise you forever
But in your eyes I no longer exist
Our ties have been severed
And I*ve become just another kiss on your list

By: Kelly T.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*