- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, May. 15, 2006
7:43 P.M.

Next weekend is the �BIG DAY� for my little sister.
I haven�t had a chance to sit down and write my speech yet but I have a lot of great material to work with.

Shawn�s advice was my favorite.
He said, �I think you should lead up to the idea that they are 2 individuals that have come together to be a team, while still being "accomplices in each others destiny) keep it funny. it is easy to be funny at a wedding...tell a story about when she was a little girl that foreshadowed this day...did she ever plan for a wedding...talk about it....maybe talk about all the things she imagined her wedding would be (dress, music, husband, place) and then suggest that the groom was actually the just the last piece)

or read a poem

or, give him advice on how to deal with you sister..as per some of the following concepts

Never try to guess your wife's size. Just buy her anything marked petite and hold on to the receipt

The Japanese have a word for it. It's judo--the art of conquering by yielding. The Western equivalent of judo is, Yes, dear.

The wedding is a beautiful thing. I think the idea behind the tuxedo is the woman's point of view that "Men are all the same, we might as well dress them that way."

Arguing with Wives:
There�s two theories to arguing' with a woman...and neither of them work.

In doing research into successful marriages, 100 hundred couples, from 32 to 80 years old and of numerous nationalities, who were happily married for over seven years were asked; What could break this bond? The number one answer was, nothing could break this bond. Judith Wallerstein Present Day Author; The Good Marriage

As a family, we love the man and we welcome your sister into that circle of love and friendship.

Insight into mans thinking:
Men don't know much about women. We do know when they're happy, we know when they're crying, and we know when they're pissed off. We just don't know in what order these are gonna come at us.
If you women knew what we were thinking, you'd never stop slapping us.


What do women want:
Much to my surprise, the answer is not SHOES, it lies somewhere between conversation and chocolate. Seriously, in consideration of Freud�s question, what do women want? The only thing I have learned from all my research is that women want men to stop asking stupid questions.�

Then Dan recommended,

�As for the toast, I gave one when my brother got married. I was 22, and I'm sure it was boring and serious. My buddy gave one for his brother in February, and he was hilarious. Made fun of his bro for 5 minutes, then nearly made everyone cry. As long as you clinch it with a sentimental note about how lucky they are to have found each other blah blah blah, everbody's happy :-) I hope I don't sound jaded! That's my advice, though - make fun of your sister in a sisterly way, then let everyone know how much she means to you, how much you've learned from her, and how happy you are that she is happy. Then threaten the groom with violence if she doesn't stay that way ;-)
How's that?�

I think I�ll use a little bit of both suggestions in my final piece.

: )

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*