- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Friday, Apr. 21, 2006
9:15 A.M.

Last night I caught up with Cindy at a local watering hole to catch up on time gone by.
We reminisced about �the good old days� and we both agreed that it�s difficult to imagine we�ve almost made it to our ten year high school reunion!
Last weekend after briefly seeing Cindy at Missy�s place, I wondered if she still thought about the times we had in high school. We had so many great memories and I still credit Cindy for being the first person to dress me up and make me feel comfortable wearing a skirt. She was the most �girly� girl I knew other than Amy back then. She cared about fashion trends and always looked great. Even after all this time she still looks great.
She looked the same but so much has changed. I can�t believe that her younger brother and sister are finally in high school. It seems like just the other day she was still babysitting them, and they were learning how to swim for the first time. She said she had looked forward to her sister reaching her teenage years so she could take her shopping for �girly things�, and now her sister isn�t into any of that stuff. She�s more casual and laid back and doesn�t spend a lot of time in the bathroom putting on make up or doing her hair.
I�m still baffled.
I mean�. Holy crap! The kids have made it to high school!
Over the years we both agreed that our parents became more laid back. She never thought in a million years that her and her step-dad would be as close as they are today.
Back in high school we had a lot of fun but felt more restricted than some of the other kids. We were always �grounded� for something silly and we swore our parents were out of their minds!
We shared so many laughs about the things we would do to try to get the boys to notice us way back when. Talking about it out loud made me feel like such a dork.
Wow! How things have changed�.
Still to this day, Vinny doesn�t believe we would have slumber parties and talk about him, or that we just hung around the neighborhood in hopes he would notice us.
Just as we were talking about him, he walked in with Roi! It was like we were in the twilight zone or something.
They sat down with us and shared in conversation.
I thought to myself, �It�s amazing how comfortable I am around Vin now that the awkwardness has long faded.�
There wasn�t a dull moment in conversation, and I laughed so much that my abs hurt and my face cramped up. It�s been a while since I�ve laughed so hard and I really needed that!
After a late night, I went back to mom and dad�s place.
I�m not able to get back into the apartment right away because it�s being treated for mold. Things should be back to normal by Saturday afternoon and Michael John is going to come by to make sure the job is done right. He mentioned that there are a lot of places that would rather cover up the problem than treat it. I�m so thankful that he knows what he�s talking about because if it weren�t for him I would have to put all of my faith into the complex manager.
Woke up this morning feeling better, and actually had Goosebumps on the way to work when I heard the song, �Someday We�ll Know�, by The New Radicals.
How many nights did I drive around listening to that song? I was almost obsessive the way I wondered why things didn�t work out with a guy I thought was the �love of my life�.
I moved on back then�
And I can probably do it again.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*