- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Wednesday, May. 04, 2005
2:03 P.M.

In an effort to organize my big move at the end of the month, I have gone through the boxes that I never unpacked when I moved into my current residence.
For each item I have decided to keep and repack, I have thrown out 3 in its place.
Sorting through my boxes, I have come to the sad conclusion that I am officially a �pack rat!�
I found so many fond memories locked in those cardboard brown boxes. Old tapes (for tape players I no longer own), pictures, ticket stubs, napkins with phone numbers from old friends, autographed CD covers from my favorite bands, flower petals, along with many other memory aides I had at one time decided to keep.
Before packing, it was the songs, the smells, or the places that would jog my memory and bring back visions of good times.
As I boxed my things up, the photos and memorabilia peaked my interest to get a hold of some long lost acquaintances from my past.
A few days back, I joined classmates.com and emailed some old friends from high school. I finally got in touch with a few people that I had often wondered about.
So far they have all responded and sound like they are doing well.
The two friends that stuck out most in my mind were Erin and JB.
I haven�t seen Erin since 1999 when she showed up at my door on Christmas Eve to apologize for our falling out.
As for JB, I haven�t seen him since just after high school, but often wondered how he was.
Every time I hear Blink 182, go to the gym, or think about cutting my hair short I think of Miss Erin.
Erin moved out to CO and is working in the dental field and going to school fulltime to be a hygienist. She has been married for a few years now and got hitched in Vegas to a guy she met in the service.
The music of Ben Folds or STP brings me back to fall of 1996 when JB was still the center of the universe. Just the other day my mom had asked about JB and told the story about the stunt we pulled after the homecoming dance my junior year.
�They disappeared after the dance. Kelly had said she was going to Amy�s dads� place to go camping after the dance and at about 11:30 JB�s mom was calling our house asking where he was. Apparently he never told his mom that he was going camping and his mom accused us of kidnapping him. JB's mom was really pissed, and she actually went as far as to get the sheriff�s office involved.�
Thinking back, I thought I would be grounded for life after pulling such a crazy stunt!
JB wrote back and said he has moved over to the east coast and is working on rockets. Yes, he is finally a �rocket scientist�.
I always knew he would do something interesting. His title sounds so difficult, yet intriguing. Back in high school he was one of the most intelligent guys I knew and he inspired me to take school more seriously.
I don�t know if my attempt to reach out to old friends will result in a reunion, but it was refreshing to hear they were doing so well.

3 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*