- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Sunday, Apr. 17, 2005
7:07 P.M.

My heart was filled with hope and joy when mom called to tell me she had found me something unique and beautiful.
Mom had the bird checked out by a doctor and he said the little guy probably wouldn't get better if he had fallen from the tree she found him under.
I knew there was only a slim chance he could recover but I was optimistic.
I went to pick up the injured bird from mom's place on Friday to bring him home. She felt that was best given her dog was very curious about the bird and the dogs� curiosity made the bird anxious. She had done a great job making him seem comfortable considering he had a broken wing. She got him a new cage filled with all the bells and whistles, and bunched up some shredded paper in the corner of the cage so he could make a little nest.
As we walked him out to the car mom said, "I named him Blue."
I laughed and she asked what I would rather name him.
I was voting for Oscar or Simon.
He IS a songbird.
"Let's call him Simon."
Simon!
The vote was unanimous.
I drove the little guy home we listened to my new Kelly Clarkson cd. He actually chirped a few times to the sound of the music and it was the most noise he had made since he had come home with mom.
I brought him up to my place and made him comfortable. He seemed to sleep a lot.
I changed his water and food this morning and it appeared that he hadn't touched it. I checked him every few hours to see how he was doing and he spent a lot of time sleeping.
At about 3:00 today I noticed that he wasn't responsive.
My eyes filled up with tears and I called my parents to tell them the news.
I only had him for a day but I had grown very hopeful that he would get better. I can�t even talk about him without crying.
Simon is gone, and all I�m left with an empty cage, false hopes, and a years worth of bird food.

4 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*