- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Wednesday, Feb. 23, 2005
4:23 P.M.

Today has been another day from hell.
I met with the accountant today and I still owe a butt load of money to the IRS.
Now she�s telling me that the furniture I donated to Good Will and the Sheriffs Youth Ranch count as deductions.
I can also write off the tax from buying two cars. I have the new car now, and I can use the tax from the car I crashed in May.
I�m trying to piece together my itemized deductions and I can�t finish them until I pick up the rest of the prescriptions from my mom�s house. It�s sad, but I�ve actually spent more than 7.5% of my income on medical bills (thanks to the horrible accident at the end of May last year).
If I don�t have enough itemized deductions I may have to sell off some of my favorite things to pay for my taxes. I�m not excited about paying taxes but I can only claim what I have receipts for.
I�ve never owed for taxes before, and if I don�t purchase a house this year I will probably owe money again next year.

*^*^

There was a time when selling my belongings didn�t seem like such a big deal.
I was still in high school. I lived at home and usually spent the little money I made on a whim. Most often I spent my money on my phone bill, cd�s or clothes.
I also became quite good at selling my favorite things to gain something of greater importance.
There was a store right down the street that offered a minimum of four dollars for a cd. Selling four cd�s usually meant dinner and 8 cd�s gave you enough to buy a theme park ticket..
I haven�t had to auction off any of my prized belongings in quite some time and it almost scares me to have to consider doing it again.
I clearly recall the last time I had to sell something close to my heart.
Junior year I sold my favorite cd�s. One cd in particular that was hard to part with was my Natalie Merchant cd. I sold it so that I could go with my friends to Universal Studios.
I was the only one out of the girls in our group who didn�t make enough money to pay for my ticket. Our trip to Orlando was the last time Missy, Meg, Jenn and I all got together and we made it a trip to remember.
I remember hearing Natalie sing �Sand Andreas Fault� on the way home and it reminded me of my difficult sacrifice.
Somewhere something after high school changed.
I haven�t seen Jennifer since graduation. Meg dropped out of my life sometime in early 99�. Missy moved up to Georgia after our last trip together and I�d only be pretending if I said I don�t miss the good times we all had together.
Maybe it�s just a coincidence but Natalie Merchant is on the radio now. She�s singing �San Andreas Fault�.


I can�t help but wonder, �What if��..
What if I would have saved more and spent a little less�..
Damn!
What are �prized possession's� anyway?....


0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*