- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Wednesday, Nov. 25, 4004
2:21 P.M.

I took the day off and slept in.
FINALLY!!!
A good night's sleep!!
I met my parents at the theater just before noon to catch the new Nick Cage flick.
It was my 2nd time seeing it but I was glad I went again because I missed some funny parts the first time around.
My mom seemed to enjoy it.
The movie itself brought back some memories from when I was a kid.
When I was 8 I went up to visit mom's family up there and my uncle gave us the grand tour.
He took us back behind the scenes like no other tour guide could.
How many kids could say they went back behind the scenes of congress or had a chance to watch the 4th of July fireworks spectacular from the Whitehouse?
Ok, it was in the 80�s so I�m sure there were other kids out there.
I missed out on the final trip to D.C. when he took everyone else through the secret tunnels below the city.
The only ones I had seen the days before were dark and dingy.
It�s been so long, I wouldn�t even remember how to get to them or which building we were in at the time we went through them.
I had an asthma attack the night before the big tour, after running through the treasury building.
I guess the dust from all the money machines must have screwed up my lungs pretty badly because I was out of commission for most of the end of the trip.
I missed out on going to the top of the national monument too.
Mom said it was something so great and to this day I curse my asthma for making me miss out on something so extraordinary.
Security has been bumped up to something more intense since the 80's, so the hope of ever seeing that stuff again is slim to none.
And my uncle would be sure to say,
�Slim just caught the last train out of town.�

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*