- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Friday, Nov. 05, 2004
11:11 P.M.

I needed to get out!
Pete had suggested we go see an art show.
Going to an art show was the perfect cure for my recent temperament change.
Viewing things from someone else�s perspective always helps you get out of your rut. Especially if you are viewing things that have nothing to do with what is truly bothering you.
Needles to say, the art show took my mind off being pissed for a while.
*^*^*^*
It was strange seeing Pete show up at my place just after 6 on a Friday.
For years he has been working at the restaurant and doesn�t get out on the weekends until 4 hours after everyone else has already started drinking.
By the time he would get out, we were all ready to call it a night.
Well we drove out to the city and parked next to the exhibit.
Some guy walked up to us and said that the show was put on hold for a while because the generators they had powering the lighting for the exhibit had taken a dump. He told us that things were being worked on and to go out and find something to eat if we hadn�t had dinner yet.
So we walked through the deserted city looking for a place to grab a bite.
I hadn�t been down in the area of the gallery in over 6 years, but since the last time I was there all of the businesses closed and the city became a ghost town.
We walked for about a mile or two and finally found a pizza place near the old Tampa Theater.
The pizza was great!
And the guy behind the counter wasn�t that bad either.
Well after we ate we started walking back to the exhibit.
While we were waiting to cross the street we ran into Pete�s sister, Marge, and her friend. She screamed "Hollah! Get in the car!" We hopped in the back of her car. We drove around for about 10 minutes looking for another parking spot, but by this time a lot more people had shown up and there weren�t many spaces available.
Once we found a spot we made our way to the exhibit Marge found some of her friend�s and they were telling us what to expect once the generators kicked back on.
He said, �you�ll find industrial, painting, sculpture, architectural and performance art.�
We waited out in the chilly air for about 20 minutes, grabbed a beer and finally the generators kicked back on.
Everyone rushed inside to see the gallery.
I was amazed by most of the art.
We must have spent a good hour and a half in that place examining all of the �Self expression� pieces.
I couldn�t help but think, �Holy cow, that was amazing! I can�t wait to see another one.�
After the art show we said goodbye to Marge and her friend and went down to South Tampa for some drinks. We talked a bit about people we didn't want to run into but he seems to have gotten over most of his anxiety about the situation so he couldn't relate very well.
I asked him about Vinny and he said that Vin was doing fine. I don't know why I even think about the guy anymore. All of my friends thought he was a total ass.
Still, I wish I could send him a card for his birthday next week.....

Once we spent about an hour or two in Tampa, then we went to meet up with some of Pete�s friends back near home.
After meeting up with Pete�s friends I made my way back home.
Pete said that there�s an art show down in Dunedin tomorrow and I�d like to check it out.
Oh wait?
I have a wedding to go to tomorrow.
I�ll have to wait till Sunday to see the other show.


0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*