- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, Oct. 18, 2004
7:17 P.M.

It was one of the most beautiful songs I had ever heard.
I heard it on the television, and had to run to the set to turn up the volume when the flicker stopped working.



I sat attentively. I crossed my arms as the goosebumps ran across my skin as a cold chill rushed through my body.

**It's been a while since a song has given me goosebumps!**
I clenched my arms tightly.
So attentive, I had to stay tuned to find out who was singing that beautiful song.
His name was Ray LaMontagne.
I went online to find more information.
I got as far as to read,
"Born in New Hampshire, but just passing through....."
I didn't read much more than the introduction to his bio.
I didn�t need to read the whole bio.
I just wanted to know where I could run out and purchase the cd with that wonderful song that captured so much magic in my own imagination.

I checked on Amazon and saw that the CD was available for purchase.
I found a copy at the local Best Buy on my way home from work tonight.
I put it in my stereo and lit a candle.


I close my eyes.

My imagination runs wild.


I sat in the dark and listened as I bundled up in my favorite flannel blanket on Amy�s' futon, wearing the pure comfort of my hip huggers and a white button up shirt.
I was totally amazed as he sings;


***"When you came to me with your bad dreams and your fears
It was easy to see that you'd been crying
Seems like everywhere you turn catastrophe it reigns
But who really profits from the dying
I could hold you in my arms
I could hold you forever
I could hold you in my arms
I could hold you in my arms forever

When you kissed my lips with my mouth so full of questions
It's my worried mind that you quiet
Place your hands on my face
Close my eyes and say
Love is a poor man's food
Don't prophesize
I could hold you in my arms
I could hold you forever
And I could hold you in my arms
I could hold you forever

So now we see how it is
This fist begets the spear
Weapons of war
Symptoms of madness
Don't let your eyes refuse to see
Don't let your ears refuse to hear
Or you ain't never going to shake this sense of sadness
I could hold you in my arms
I could hold on forever
And I could hold you in my arms
I could hold forever "*** - Ray LaMontagne


I think I wanted to sit there alone.
I wanted to day dream about a log cabin somewhere in Colorado, and pretend I was curled up by a warm fire place.....
Fantasizing about a guy who lives a million miles away�
Wishing I were in the company of a silly, lovable, guy who has probably by now forgotten my once familiar name�.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*