- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Friday July 30, 2004
5:49 P.M.

Woke up early and spent most of the day in business meetings.

After the meetings we had a big old BBQ out on the lake.

I met so many great people.

Families went on boat rides, kids played on the playgrounds, and agents lounged around stuffing their faces and drinking as much as their exhausted bodies could handle.

Hutch showed up late and mingled a bit with the agents. Just before sun down he approached me and asked if I was going to check out his new house on the lake. He asked me in front of Tammy and she kept nudging me saying, �Go ahead.�

I walked off and returned later to tell him that I was going to hit �THE PORT� with Kim and Pat.

Hutch went home to shower and I pilled into a limo with some guys from the office and other agents.

I called Kaleb to see if he was going to dick out early again like last night and he said that he was with another group that was headed to �The Port�.

We got there and the place was packed.

There was a guy playing violin and a guitar player out on the tiki deck.

Yes, I said �TIKI DECK�. They had a mini-tiki hut out on the lake and the bar tender put a Leigh around my neck and commented on my BEBE shirt.

Every time people passed me during the night they�d say, �Baby! Baby!�

It got old quick.

I looked around but didn�t see Hutch anywhere.

I hung out with the group of agents from my office and tackled a few cocktails. After about an hour or two of drinking Megan and I were up dancing on stage leading to the whole house of people joining us.

Once it got too rowdy, even the band gave up and packed up early.

I ran into some of the agents that were on the cruise in April and they all asked me if I had heard from Jo Jo.

They swore that we�d be together because we were so inseparable the entire week in the Caribbean.

Sure, I think about Jo all the time, but he lives a million miles away and he has no obvious plans to visit in the near future.

Brad invited me out to Vegas and I thought about taking him up on his offer some time in the next few months.

Vegas could provide ample entertainment on a three-day weekend after my surgery if all goes well. It would be a great place to have a girl�s weekend out.

A few hours had passed and Kaleb finally showed up. He was already trashed and I couldn�t believe this was the same kid who had been in a diabetic coma just a week ago.

This kid is crazy!

Although I was drunk myself, I was still sober enough to worry about him.

I worried up until the part where K buried his face in some girl�s mouth. I figure if he�s playing tonsil hockey with some blond chick he�s well enough to get home at the end of the night�

The crowd started to thin out and I scanned the faceless strangers around me looking for Pat, or Kim. I had come to the party with them and somewhere along the line they had disappeared.

I ran into Hutch again and he asked if I wanted to hang out. I wasn�t sure because we had both been drinking. The bars were closing and there wasn�t much to really do in a one-horse town.

Tammy came up and asked, �Is he giving us a ride home.�

He shot her a quick look of disappointment and pulled me aside to say, �Let�s get out of here!�

Tammy looked at me with those puppy dog eyes and then Eddie, Dave and John walked up behind her.

�Hey Kelly, how are we getting home?�

I told them I�d call Kaleb.

I got Kaleb on the phone and passed it to Eddie.

Eddie told K that Hutch was there and K told Hutch to take us home.

Let�s just say he was less than pleased to pile all of us into his Chevy truck.

We drove about 5 minutes back to the townhouses and dropped everyone off.

Dave was WAY DRUNK and insisted that Hutch take him to �Demoah!�

�HUTCH! TAKE ME TO DEMOAH! TAKE ME TO DEMAOH NOW!�

Hutch laughed and said, �Why? So you can mow my grass? The only time I go to the mower is to mow the grass.�

Dave got pissy and shouted, �NO DAMIT! TAKE ME TO DEMOAH! I WANT TO DANCE!�

I think he was trying to say Des Moines?

Then Dave grabbed my arm and said I broke Crazy Carl�s heart on the cruise and that he wasn�t going to let me screw up Hutch�s heart too.

Dave grabbed onto my arm and wouldn�t let go. He refused to get out of the truck without me and caused a big scene.

I invited Hutch back to our place but he just wasn�t having it.

I pacified Dave�s crazy request and walked up to my town home.

He sped off as soon as I got out of the truck and I figured I�d never heard from him again�.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*