- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Thurssday July 29, 2004
5:17 P.M.

I don't think I slept a wink last night.

I had just rolled over and shut my eyes at 4am when the alarm sounded.

I jumped in the shower and woke Tammy up just before 5am.

I had a few last minute things to pack and I was ready to go.

My sister dropped us off at the airport and we got stuck in a long line for the security check.

Once we made it through security we hauled ass to our departing gate.

I was shocked to see my boss on the same flight. Not only was he on the same flight, he chose to sit in the back of the plane in the cheap seats with Tammy and I.

Once the plane took off my nerves felt like they tumbled into a frenzy of shock. I don't enjoy flying and I couldn't get my cd player to work to provide for distraction during the duration of the flight.

My boss made a sarcastic comment about having to replace the CD player, but I told him I'd be fine.

I was rather embarrassed when my own fears caused my hands to shake and my head to cramp up.

I could hardly think, let alone carry an intelligent conversation but I muscled through it the best I could.

My boss wanted to talk business and he rattled off a number of great ideas. I took mental notes while Tammy took his comments personal and felt insecure about his comment about vacation and sick pay.

I know for a fact that I have reached my own limits for vacation and sick pay so I wasn't nervous at all. I know for sure that the next time I miss work, I won't get paid, and it doesn't bother me. It just means that I will have to save a few pennies for a rainy day just in case I can't make ends meet.

After our flight touched down in Tennessee, all I wanted to see was the washroom. My stomach was churning so bad that I couldn't see straight.

As soon as I came out from the restroom my boss walked up to me and handed me a big plastic bag and said, "Don't worry about it, we'll just deduct this from your bonus check this month."

He smiled and walked towards the cafe' in the airport.

We all sat together and grabbed a bite to eat before hopping the next flight out to Des Moines.

The 2nd leg of the flight was much smoother than the first and I spent the entire time listening to the tunes of Okenfold, Ben Harper, and Jason Mraz.

Although the 2nd flight was smooth, I was still happy to get off the plane once we arrived in Des Moines.

There were men holding signs with our names on them once we exited the terminal.

We all pilled into a number of limos and caravanned out to Lake Panorama.

Talk about the middle of NO WHERE!

We drove for an hour and 45 minutes into No Man's Land, where the population tops out at about 800 people (dogs, cats, and hamsters).

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*