- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, Jul. 26, 2004
8:59 P.M.

Today was a day full of �Firsts�.

First day I was first in the office.

First day Kaleb was in a diabetic coma.

And first day I went to a �Purse Party.�

Yes, I said diabetic coma.

I was dreading this day since Lori told me that we were having an office meeting that was scheduled to last more than an hour.

Last Friday Lori handed me an outline for all of the things we were supposed to discuss at this mornings meeting.

I got to the office this morning close to 8 am and saw Edith before anyone else. I was shocked to find that Kaleb didn�t beat me to the parking lot. He�s usually the first person into the building and the last one to leave every day.

Edith calmly told me that Lori wasn�t coming in because she was sick, Tammy was at a dentist appointment and Kaleb was in a diabetic coma.

Apparently something happened yesterday at the golf tournament. He passed out and never woke up.

He�s been sick off and on for the last few weeks and actually went to see the doctor Thursday.

I called him on Saturday night to see how he was holding up and he said he was doing fine. �It�s going to be the first weekend that I�m not going out drinking.�

I guess he wasn�t supposed to be drinking on the antibiotics the doctor gave him?

Sunday it was the same story. I heard from him in the morning and he said he was going to be headed back to Tampa late, but would be at work on Monday morning.

To say the office was slow would be an understatement.

It felt like a ghost town in there today.

Scott intended to have the meeting as planned but when Tammy didn�t show up for work until after 11, he just gave up on the idea.

Towards the end of the day I think Ruby could see that I wasn�t feeling up to �par�.

She invited me to her place after work for a girl�s night out.

�Have you ever been to a purse party? It�s sorta fun. I think you may like it. Even if you don�t carry a purse it�s going to be just us girls.�

I accepted her invitation on the concept that I needed some distraction from my own thoughts.

I would probably self-destruct if left on my own.

After work I met the girls at Ruby�s place. Edith told everyone about Kaleb�s situation and called the hospital to try to talk to him. She ended up getting the wrong room number and quickly aborted the mission.

Inside I was going nuts thinking, �Pick up the phone. Dial again! Just ask the operator to connect you to his room.�

People tried to hold conversation with me, but my mind was someplace else.

Edith had mentioned that Kaleb�s dad was flying down to see him and I knew it had to be serious.

This kid is only 23. He�s 23 and in bad shape.

I wish there was something I could do to make it all better.

I feel so bad for him.

While the ladies traded purses my mind was in Orlando.

I had a fun time with the girls but found that I watched the clock and counted the minutes until I could run out to my car to call him from my cell phone.

My call went straight to voicemail, but then again it was expected. He�s in the hospital. Cell phones usually don�t even work in the hospital.

Now I�ll have to wait until tomorrow morning to get the scoop.

God, I hope K is ok�..

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*