- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Thursday, Jul. 15, 2004
10:06 A.M.

Seen the "butterfly effect" yet?

It's intense. It's not gory, but insinuates gore like a Hitchcock film would.

Watched the �Butterfly Effect� last night and was completely amazed by how the movie seemed to spring from actual psychological theory. So many theories are covered in the time frame of just a couple hours.

You've got nature vs. nurture, butterfly effect, memory, chaos, and a few others....

It�s strange that just the other night I was reading through one of my old psychology books and stumbled across theories that tried to explain how memory is created and recovered.

There was one story in particular that stood out more than others about a man who had lost his ability to create new memories due to trauma to the brain. He could only recall information from before his brain injury.

He couldn�t tell you what day of the week it was but he could tell that it was Valentines Day because he kept a red aluminum wrapper in his pocket that once held a chocolate heart.

He learned to use memory aides to recall memories. He found that when he was able to recall a fragment of a memory he could piece it back together.

The guy who had been institutionalized for 20 years actually did research on his own memories with these memory aides.

There was one fault. He wasn't sure that the memories he could recall were completely true and factual.

Strange but true.

Anyway, that's a long story. Can't go into all of it now.

But the movie is mostly based on recalling memories, and chaos theory and how one action will cause another reaction down the road.

I studied psych. for about 4-5 years and planned on getting my PhD. I used to be amazed with that stuff.

I did research myself on chaos theory.

What exactly is chaos? The name "chaos theory" comes from the fact that the systems that the theory describes are apparently disordered, but chaos theory is really about finding the underlying order in apparently random data. It's usually used more in mathematics, but is also often used in clinical psychology.

It's strange how something as small as a movie can inspire you to go back and study the stuff you were once so into.

I won't give away the plot to the movie, and it's sort of far fetched but if you can handle intense movies, definitely see it.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*