- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Saturday, Jun. 26, 2004
12:02 A.M.

He's been a retired colonel from the United States Army for ten years but he got the call 22:00 this evening telling him that he will be sent over to Afghanistan next week.

The news of Glen leaving the country was enough to devastate dad after the week he has already had. His sister lost her job; she got evicted and was admitted to a psychiatric ward.

My mom called crying just after she had heard the news about Glen tonight. She said that my dad was going to rush home with my sister from Ohio tonight to meet with Glen in Orlando on Sunday.

Glen has always been optimistic on these trips but this time he didn't sound well.

My dad was hysterical as he explained to my mom, "He's in his late 50's and he's been retired for ten years. How can they recall him in his situation."

I myself don't even understand the whole situation.

Isn�t there a point in one�s life where they are just TOO OLD to be shipped out of the country on active duty?

I was shocked when my mom called me with the news. The phone line went silent for a few seconds and then my mom asked me if Amy was with me.

I said she hadn't called me back. The last I had heard from her, she told me that she was going to take a nap and that she'd call me as soon as she woke up.

I still haven't heard from her, so I assume she just slept through the night.

"Kelly, spend as much time with her as you can. Glen says that they are calling up ALL SOLDIERS to active duty this week."

I just hope that the army doesn't call Amy back to active duty while she is supposed to be on leave for the next month. She's been over there for so long and she really deserved a break.

It's so damn hard watching people who are close to you go over to another country where you see all of the bad things that are reported on the news daily.

These next few days are going to be very hard for my dad. Seeing his best friend get shipped out was the last thing he expected.

I think back to how difficult it was to say goodbye to Amy. It still breaks my heart to fathom the day when she will be shipped out again.....

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*