- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Tuesday, May. 11, 2004
9:35 P.M.

There is something alluring about old photographs.

My grandmother brought over a cd with family photographs from the early to mid 1900's.

Wow, talk about amazing.

I look at these pictures and they seem to capture so much mood.

There were a few family shots on the cd that have both my grandmother, and my grandfather in them. I was shocked when my grandmother told me that the pictures were taken shortly after they had met.

This one is a family photo taken in 1942

*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*

This one is a music store that my family owned up north in the year 1910.

(It's no wonder why I love music so much....)

*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*

Both Photo's were taken after the automobile was invented, but before Color Television....

*^*^*^*^*^*

Things were so much different back then.

Grandma said that if she dated someone, her parents definately knew about it because the guy would first have to ask for their permission to date her. If a guy wanted to get married back then he wouldn't just have to ask permission, he would also have to prove that he could support a wife and a family.

The "dating game" doesn't work like that for me.

I don't think any guy has asked my parents permission for anything since I was about 15.

I guess my parents will get a shock one day 3-5 years down the road when they receive word that I've decided to get engaged?

Or maybe I'll get hitched to one of those "old fashioned" guys from up north and he'll ask my dad for his blessing before he asks me to marry him?

Whatever the case may be, I'm probably a long time away from getting married, but from now on no guys are going to meet my parents unless they have potential.

I'm tired of having to hear my grandmother ask about the guys that I know could never be "the one".

She's anxious to get me married off, but most of the normal guys are unavailable.

I've kissed a lot of frogs, and I'm ready to meet my prince any day now...

But I wonder, do you have to kiss ALL the frogs to find the prince?

*^*^*^*^*^*^*

On a positive note, Joe wrote today.

He may come down for July 4th.

How great would that be?

THAT WOULD BE FABULOUS!!!

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*