- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Tuesday, May. 11, 2004
9:18 P.M.

I met an art buff today while I was wondering around a strip mall.

I walked into the art and frame store and it wasn't even set up yet.

The carpet hadn't even been laid out and the owner was inside unpacking boxes.

"Excuse the mess. I'm still working on getting this place set up. Give it a few more days and it should be all set.

Are you looking for something in particular?"

I sifted through prints on cardboard that were wrapped in plastic.

I replied, "Do you have any of the newer releases from Vettriano or Scott Mutter?"

I've been looking for that certain something to add to my place.

I'm working with a lot of reds and blacks. The carpet is light but the bedroom has a darker "romantic" theme to it.

I'm trying to distract the attention away from the light colored flooring and focus it more on the brilliant prints on the wall.

So far I have "The Singing Butler", some stuff by Michael Parks, Vintage Prints of wine and cats, and Black and white surrational images, in addition to a black and white Monroe print of her in her underwear holding a shot glass in each hand.

He told me a story about a girl that had ordered some Monroe art, and showed me the remaining print from the set that she had left behind.

Apparently she was younger and felt too embarrassed to return to the shop to pick up her prints after she realized the guy was old enough to be her father.

He seemed nervous as he told me the story and I shrugged it off and continued flipping through the prints.

Well some girls are into that?

Who knows?

I nodded at one print and said, "Ok, maybe something like this. I could use a tall vertical black and white photo of the sears tower and then another equally stunning architectural beauty to put on either side of this HUGE candle sconce sculpture that I have hanging on the wall?"

He showed me the list of prints that he could order.

I got more ideas of what I wanted to add to my apartment.

We talked a bit about art for about an hour until I realized that I was late for my appointment.

I took his card and told him that I'd let him know if there were any prints he could order for me.

It was nice to talk about art with someone.

I had not been able to do that in so long.

Looking at those prints made me want to check out one of the local museums. I'm sure there is a lot to see here locally.

The last exhibit I checked out was just before the cruise when I went to see Dale Chahule's sculptures in St. Pete.

Wow, talk about amazing!

I wish I still had the time to work with stained glass.

I wish I had time to work on anything creative, but I guess I�ll have time for that when I retire?

(100 years from now)

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*