- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Sunday, Mar. 14, 2004
9:16 A.M.

Well last night Billy and I hit up one of the local bars. He introduced me to some of the regular bar flies and we shared conversation and drinks for a few hours.

It all started from a text message I had received earlier that morning. When I received it, my first thought was that it was a joke coming from someone else playing with his phone.

He followed it up with unrelated text messages throughout the day and we finally met up later that evening.

I had a blast. It was great to get out and meet some more new people.

I met an emergency veterinarian who once saved one of Billy's dogs and he openly admits that he drank way too much at the last hockey game. He normally drank beer, but at the last game he was drinking mixed drinks and ended up getting too drunk too fast. He was thankful that his girlfriend took such good care of him because he had no clue how he got home from the game.

Terry, the emergency vet quickly offered to let me borrow his sweatshirt when he saw that I was shivering. Before I could thank him for his nice gesture, two girls walked up and gave him big bear hugs.

I got to meet the girl who saved the day and she's just as amazing as he had painted her out to be.

We all sat out on the tiki deck for a few hours just talking and then Terry and the girls had to leave. I gave back the sweatshirt and thanked him for his thoughtful rescue. I probably would have woken up sick from all of the cool damp air if I weren�t wearing a sweatshirt.

After Terry left we took the party inside where I met another group of guys.

I nudged Billy, "So do you see anyone else you know."

He scanned the room and smiled to a guy in the corner as he waived the stumbling drunk over to our table.

The guy leaned in to shake our hands. "Hey, gorble, gobble, blah, blah, blah."

I couldn�t understand a word that had come out of this guy�s mouth. I felt like I was listening to the Swedish chef trying to talk with marbles in his mouth.

I never thought I'd find another Mr. Mumbles, but this guys lack of ability to put together a sentence actually made Kitty look like a master of phonics.

I thought for a moment about the night I went up to Ruby's with Kitty and he mumbled something to the waitress as she was taking his order, and she brought him a rack of ribs.

He was mumbling, but I agreed with the waitress the closest thing on the menu to what he had jumbled out of his mouth WAS the rack of ribs.

I got to thinking that if the guy I had just met in the bar tried to order anything off ANY menu, the waitress would just walk away frustrated as all hell because there is nothing on ANY menu that sounds like, "jorble, gobble, blah, bleep, blow."

Billy asked leading questions to the stumbling drunk guy and I tried to listen attentively. I swear that when Billy asked how the guy was doing he nodded his head in a yes-ful manner, but told a story that sounded rather sad, but I was only trying to determine the mood of the story by the tone of the guys voice as he explained the situation.

He shook our hands again and made his way to a table of four girls sitting alone silently as they scanned the crowd.

I laughed so hard as I saw their expressions when he tried to introduce himself.

The girls looked more and more confused after he pulled up a chair and tried to hold a conversation.

My guess is that the guy doesn't score much based on his inability to communicate a single sentence to anyone...

After hanging out in the bar for a few more minutes we made our way home. It was probably 2:30 in the morning and after the drinks I was ready for bed.

I came in went to bed, and now here I am.

I'm awake and ready to tackle another Sunday.

I'm just thankful that I'm not hung over.

I'll probably run some errands and hopefully hit the beach in a bit.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*