- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Friday, Mar. 12, 2004
6:21 A.M.

Visiting my parents last night I saw exactly what I had imagined and it made me feel like shit.

My mom doesn't pay much attention to my dad. He just sits there in front of the computer, oblivious to the world around him.

Dad tries to desperately hold a conversation, but it's rather difficult when his short term memory has gone to shit.

It's as if you spend ten minutes recapping what you were talking about just 3 minutes ago.

I wish there was more I could do to help.

He's not eating well, I know this.

My mom is too tired to take care of him.

She goes to work at the ass crack of dawn, and comes home and goes straight to bed.

On the weekends, she wakes up early to go run errands around town.

My dad has no one...

He just sits there at home all day long.

Who knows if he even eats lunch anymore.

If you left it up to him, he would forget about it all together.

He doesn't have the hunger that normal people have. He has no internal clock telling him, "Hey guy, go get a sandwich!"

My sister is in town for another day and I'm glad she's here, but she hasn't spent much time with dad either.

I'm hoping that when she moves down for good in the summer she will spend more time with him....

I heard this song on the way home last night and found myself crying for hours.....

****************************************************

You got a fast car; I want a ticket to anywhere

Maybe we make a deal; maybe together we can get somewhere

Anyplace is better; Starting from zero got nothing to lose

Maybe we'll make something, But me myself I got nothing to prove

You got a fast car, and I got a plan to get us out of here

I been working at the convenience store, managed to save just a little bit of money

We won't have to drive too far, Just 'cross the border and into the city

You and I can both get jobs, and finally see what it means to be living

You see my old man's got a problem, He live with the bottle that's the way it is

He says his body's too old for working, I say his body's too young to look like his

My mama went off and left him, She wanted more from life than he could give

I said somebody's got to take care of him, So I quit school and that's what I did

You got a fast car, but is it fast enough so we can fly away

We gotta make a decision; we leave tonight or live and die this way

I remember we were driving driving in your car

The speed so fast I felt like I was drunk

City lights lay out before us

And your arm felt nice wrapped 'round my shoulder

And I had a feeling that I belonged

And I had feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

You got a fast car, and we go cruising to entertain ourselves

You still ain't got a job, and I work in a market as a checkout girl

I know things will get better, You'll find work and I'll get promoted

We'll move out of the shelter, Buy a big house and live in the suburbs

You got a fast car, and I got a job that pays all our bills

You stay out drinking late at the bar, See more of your friends than you do of your kids

I'd always hoped for better, Thought maybe together you and me would find it

I got no plans I ain't going nowhere, So take your fast car and keep on driving

You got a fast car, but is it fast enough so you can fly away

You gotta make a decision; you leave tonight or live and die this way

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*