- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Thursday, Feb. 12, 2004
11:02 P.M.

Tonight I drove back out to Tampa to finish talking business with some more potential agents. I arrived at the Hyatt at about 5ish and we all met for drinks before dinner. I stuck to Pepsi on the rocks and answered questions about annuities and long term care until I felt like my head could spin right off its axis.

Around 6 we made our way up to the restaurant. They had us separated into two groups of about 7. I chose to sit at the table with Bruce and Jane because they seemed the most �normal� out of the bunch.

As I tried to pull out my chair another guy sat in it and waived me over to the seat at the head of the table. �Kelly you sit at the head, we all want to hear what you have to say.�

Will pulled out my chair with a smile.

My stomach did a flip-flop as I suddenly became uncomfortable. I glanced over my shoulder to see if the other table had filled up yet and all the seats were taken. I had to sit here.

I sat down and we started talking contracting. Out of no where Will�s dad started talking about fishing in Alaska, which immediately caught the eyes and ears of my boss who is very interested in learning how to fly fish.

Bill went into some story about being stuck on a sailboat with no breeze and a big fish on the line.

�I swear he was bigger than the boat. I waited 2 whole days for him to come up. I waited alone in the pouring rain.�

I waited to hear him say, �In a hurricane, on Christmas Eve.�

Then his long-winded story wrapped right into another one where they caught 300 pounds of Salmon in a tent city somewhere in Alaska.

I rolled my eyes as Will commented, �First it was 200 pounds, then it was 250, now it�s up to 300. I swear the fish get bigger each and every time he tells the story.�

As the old man rambled on and on I was briefly reminded of Ding Dong and considered barfing up a lung.

For the entire night I sat at the head of this table biting my tongue trying not to say something to make this old man look like a bigger idiot than he made himself out to be.

When the old man wasn�t telling a story, his son was bragging about how much money he had and all the things he had done at the age of just 31 years old.

Sure, he�s young and somewhat attractive, but he didn�t need to be so snotty.

A few tall tales, and drinks later the meal finally arrived. It was much better than the appetizers (that actually tasted like shoe).

I ordered the filet and was very pleased. It was cooked to perfection.

After dinner we had a huge tray of deserts to choose from.

We practically inhaled the dainty deserts and glanced at our watches.

I rubbed my tummy, then pointed to my watch and commented, �It�s about that time.�

Lori came over to announce to all the agents that we would show them the town if they ever returned for pleasure instead of business.

Will�s eyes lit up as he commented about the nightlife in Maryland.

�Kelly, YOU HAVE TO COME UP! I could show you so much.�

He would have actually been kind of cute if he hadn�t spent so much time talking himself up all night.

We all parted ways, I said my goodnights and made my way home.

Its hours later and I�m ready to crash!

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*