- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Saturday, Jan. 24, 2004
3:30 A.M.

I walked up to the dj booth to say hello.

He pulled me aside to introduce me to some guy.

"This is Kelly. She's an amazing writer."

I thought to myself, "Yeah, like he even knows anything about my writing."

He carried on in conversation, "She wrote me an email last week and I was totally impressed with the way it flowed so well. She's so articulate."

Then out of nowhere some girl came up and gave him a hug.

I walked off.

The attraction was suddenly dead. She wasn't even cute from far away, in the dark, after 6 drinks, with a bag over her head, and perfect mood music playing in the background.

I went upstairs and watched as the groupies gathered around him.

I thought to myself, "Hell no. Never again. I remember when I dated James. It was a total joke. I couldn't even take his friendship seriously after losing trust in him. How the hell can you trust a guy who's so wrapped up in his P.R. that he loses his whole sense of self?"

I thought about sending him some of my real stuff, but I retracted the thought after a brief feeling of mistrust.

I don't even know this guy. Why the hell would I send him my writings, foolishly inviting him into my twisted little world?

When Heidi and I went upstairs to dance shorty and his buddies followed us up. They pretty much followed us all night.

I actually considered giving shorty my number just to see if he would call.

He's been a little player ever since I've noticed his existence.

We also ran into Jeff and Michael.

Jeff said he'd like to join us for my birthday celebration next Saturday, so I gave him my number. It would be nice to see him and his girlfriend. I always have a blast when I get a chance to dance with them in the club. They really know their stuff and I love to learn the latest steps!

Michael offered to burn me another cd. He said his roomie is a local dj and he's always got the best vinyl.

I couldn't help but think back to John Cusak in the movie, "High Fidelity".

I love that flick.

And the part where he says, "I'll make you a tape", always makes me smile.

You can't help but smile when a great dj offers to make you a mix that is personalized especially for you.

It's damn late, and I know I probably won't wake up in time to go to Casadega.

I guess it's just as well.

I need my sleep, and I've got a lot of packing to do.

I'm sure I'll make it there some day...

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*