- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Thursday, Jan. 22, 2004
10:57 P.M.

I was at work making phone calls for most of the day.

There was one phone call in particular that I remember. This man's agitation was contagious.

His tone sounded so whiney as he explained his case, �I already told you. I just don�t feel like anyone cares about my success. I�blah, blah, blah, blah ��.(I started to drift out of consciousness as he went on and on and on and on.)

This man just kept rambling on about his bad luck lately and how it�s not his fault that he�s failing so badly.

I wanted to hang up but instead I pacified his ego by responding, �Yeah, that does suck. I�m sorry about your luck. I can only hope it gets better.�

I tried to cheer him up by changing the subject, �So how�s the weather there?�

He got more pissed than he was just a moment ago. �I already told you Kelly. It fucking sucks! Everything sucks! Everything sucks and there is nothing I can do about it. There�s really nothing you can do about it, so there�s no point in me calling you up to ask for business tips�

I don�t have any business tips I can offer him anyway. My head is in the clouds.

The best I can advise right now is, don�t eat yellow snow!

I couldn�t help but think about how this is Amy�s last day in town. I didn�t want to be on the phone with agents in Illinois and Ohio. I don�t really care if it�s snowing so badly that they can�t get out of the driveway to get to work.

I don�t even want to be at work today.

I should be spending the day with Amy. Now this is a joke. What am I doing at work on Amy�s last day?

The man on the phone stopped talking. A long silence came between us and then he finally spoke up, �are you waiting for me to say something, because I really have to go. I�ll call you later when the office is up and running again.�

He hung up the phone and suddenly it hit me, �What the fuck is he going to do? He�s snowed in. The most he can do is amuse himself watching television or surfing the internet. Hell, he�s probably sitting at home next to the phone, in front of his computer in his damn underwear, playing solitaire while his kids are out building snow men and igloos out of the snow.�

I sat in front of my computer just passing the time by today trying my best not to regret going into work instead of spending my time with Amy but my mind couldn�t help but wonder.

I kept thinking, �We could be out at the mall, or at the beach, or on the sponge docks, or in the aquarium, or taking one of those nifty one-tank-trips where you take a short road trip to see something totally amazing on just one tank of gas.

After work I made my way to her house. The air seemed almost too calm in her house. Those moments that seem to come few and far between when you are just about to say goodbye seem to last in your mind forever.

Our time together tonight was short but sweet.

I told her I would keep in touch and she asked for Dion�s contact information since he was going to be transferring near her camp.

I called Kitty to get the information and it shouldn�t have come as a surprise when he acted like a total asshole.

The last time I talked to him before this we cut things short on account of his attitude. Ok, WE didn�t decide to end the conversation. I did. I was tired of listening to his tone and trying to dig the reason for his agitation out of him. I�ve got so many other things to focus on right now.

I just wasn�t in the mood to argue.

I don�t want to deal with anyone�s crap right now.

Well after I called him to get the information Amy and I had a chance to talk a bit more about her newly found fame. She was interviewed on the news and it�s scheduled to air on Sunday around 6 or 11 pm on channel 8.

I�m so proud of her. She�s really come a long way, and seen so much!

Time snuck away as I hung out for a bit and hugged her goodbye. I walked out the door and cut my exit speech short because I could see that she was already crying and I was trying my best to be strong.

I walked out the door and started to pace back to my car. I heard the door swing open behind me as she ran up to give me another hug.

We both burst into tears as I told her I would be counting the days until she came back.

I was so glad she came out one more time to say goodbye. It just didn�t feel right rushing the �goodbye speech� on account of my own tears.

Her trip this time will be brief compared to the last year or so that she�s been over there. She is scheduled to come back to the states in May, and as I said; I will be counting the days until she returns.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*