- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Sunday, Jan. 18, 2004
8:31 P.M.

Tonight I went to check out a sofa with my parents. We went to see the woman that lives next to grandma. She has been trying to get rid of her old furniture for a month now.

The colors of the material are horrendous, but I figure I can just buy a slipcover to throw over it for now.

I'm not going to waste a bunch of money on furniture. I'll wait until I�m married to throw money away on that kind of stuff.

When I was finished viewing the furniture my grandmother directed me over to meet the other neighbors.

"Kelly, Dave says that he knows you. He said you go way back."

I walked over to the house located on the other side of her place and there was a couple standing in the doorway with their dog.

I watched as the guy standing with the girl smiled, "Kelly, it is you. I knew it was you! I haven't seen you in forever."

I paused for a second and replied,

"Duck?"

His face lit up with joy.

"Holy cow. Kelly it is you. How have you been? I haven't seen you since your 18th birthday."

The girl that was with him introduced herself but I don't recall her name.

The moment seemed still and almost uncomfortable.

He started talking again at the same time my grandmother was trying to ask me a question.

I was thrown for a loop with all of the shock and confusion.

All I could think was, "Holy cow, Duck lives next to my grandma!"

We spent about 2 minutes catching up until my grandma ushered us back into her house. It was a brief encounter but a memorable one.

He seems to be doing well. He is working, and getting married in a few months.

I congratulated him on the wedding and wished him luck.

His brother is back in prison and much like me, he hasn't kept in touch with many of our old friends.

The last I had heard they were in and out of prison too.

When we got back over to my grandma's house she told me that Duck had been helping her a lot around the house.

"He cleaned my porch and he's quite handy around the house. He's such a great guy. I really like him a lot. I'm glad to be his neighbor. He's such a sweet guy."

She looked at me rather funny and asked me how I knew him.

I told her as much as I could in the brief moment before her friends showed up to take her to dinner.

"Well we were really good friends when I was back in middle school and high school. It was a strange situation. We didn't talk for a few years and then all of a sudden ran into each other. It always seemed to happen that way. He'd just show up somewhere unexpected and he never forgot my face. He really is a great guy. You are lucky to have such a wonderful neighbor."

I trust that he'll take good care of her. He's one of the most caring people I have ever met.

I'm happy to see that he's settled down. His fianc� seems like a very nice girl.

He seemed very happy when I saw him today.

I only hope to find such happiness someday....

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*