- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Friday, Jan. 16, 2004
8:54 A.M.

Yesterday at the end of the business day I got into a conversation with the girls at work.. I don�t know what it is about that place but the girls seem to talk a lot of love and marriage.

I got in on the conversation, curious to find out how they knew when they found �The One.�

I�m always curious to hear how someone knew their spouse was the one. Most people tell me that they knew it from the first time they lied eyes on Mr. Wonderful and that is always great to hear considering I was hoping to find the same thing. You have more faith that it exists if you hear so many other people bragging about it.

Well one woman was telling me about the things that made her first marriage fail and it was the little things that usually give me an excuse to break things off with a guy.

I could totally relate. She said,

�It just wasn�t fun anymore. He�s too shy. We would go out and he would sit in the corner. He wasn�t very social. It�s important that the guy I�m with can stand up and take care of himself in a social setting. He didn�t want to do much of anything if it didn�t involve football, or one of his other friends. It was as if was afraid to be normal.�

I laughed. I thought back to so many guys who �Seemed� like they could hold their own but they really are too shy.

�Or how �bout those guys who THINK they are funny.�

Once again, I relate to her comment. I could rattle off so many names when I heard that comment.

It was great to hear so many different opinions about the same subject.

One thing all the girls seemed to agree on was separate savings accounts.

�There are just times when you don�t feel like ASKING, Can I please have some money so I can go out with my friends.�

I guess it�s a good idea. I enjoy my independence and that is a good enough reason not to commit, but these girls made me see the other side of the fence.

We ended our conversation on a positive note and I found myself daydreaming about silly details.

Before I left work to go pick Amy up I checked my horoscope. It told me to expect great things this weekend. �A guy that you�ve been pursuing will fall madly in love with you.�

On my way home from work I started to reminisce about times that I felt most in love. I threw on the one song that reminded me most of being in love. �My Immortal� just seems to capture a feeling and an emotion I�ve run from for so long.

It�s been at least 2 years since I�ve felt that spark�.

I popped out the cd and my radio actually caught a signal while I sifted through my cd�s. Liz Phair sang,

�Get a load of me, get a load of you

Walkin' down the street, and I hardly know you

It's just like we were meant to be

Holding hands with you, and we're out at night

Got a girlfriend, you say it isn't right

And I've got someone waiting too

This is, this is just the beginning

We're already wet, and we're gonna go swimming

Why can't I breathe whenever I think about you

Why can't I speak whenever I talk about you

It's inevitable, it's a fact that we're gonna get down to it

So tell me

Why can't I breathe whenever I think about you

Isn't this the best part of breakin' up

Finding someone else you can't get enough of

Someone who wants to be with you too

It's an itch we know we are gonna scratch

Gonna take a while for this egg to hatch

But wouldn't it be beautiful

Here we are, we're at the beginning

We haven't fucked yet, but > heads spinning

Why can't I breathe whenever I think about you

Why can't I speak whenever I talk about you

It's inevitable, it's a fact that we're gonna get down to it

So tell me

Why can't I breathe whenever I think about you

I'd love for you to make me wonder

Where it's goin'

I'd love for you to pull me under

Somethin's growin'

for this that we can control

Baby I am dyin'

Why can't I breathe whenever I think about you

Why can't I speak whenever I talk about you

Why can't I breathe whenever I think about you

Why can't I speak whenever I talk about you

It's inevitable, it's a fact that we're gonna get down to it

So tell me

Why can't I breathe whenever I think about you�

I�ll find love someday. I�ll find something special too. It�s just one more reason to get out this weekend�.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*