- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Sunday, Jan. 11, 2004
8:38 P.M.

You compliment my fresh skin

And the aqua hue in my light eyes

I write your story in pen

But the ink never seems to dry

Shake it like a Polaroid picture

And tack it up on the wall

Your smile seems sinister

I wonder if you�ll remember this at all

You create another memory

As your conversation becomes more blunt

All this time you've been a reverie

I find I had to pinch myself at least once

We talked music

We talked life

Inspiration and magic

And why you don�t have a wife

Once dreamt of being tangled

Wrapped up warm in your bed

A fantasy twisted and mangled

Now only wishing I could get inside your head

I read the smile on your face

It told me you had honest intentions coiled up somewhere inside

Darkness once covered the space

Where emotion and flattery reside

I remember watching you from afar

You mischievous expressions kept me guessing

You warmed something in my heart

So much for first impressions

I hoped you�d be more pretentious

I hoped you�d be more shallow

To comfort this selfish bitterness

That imagined you being more trite and hollow

I told myself you couldn�t possibly be perfect

Nothing like that man in my dreams

Resisting the small hint of enticement

As you become nothing of what you seemed

Your conversation had substance

Your ambitions lacked foundation

I gave into resistance

And lost any intent of communication

I just lent your stories an ear

As you chatted on and on

You told me of your fears

And why your hope was gone

I wanted to save you

Not knowing you could never be saved

I wanted to pull you through

I wanted to inspire you to be brave

The night seemed to end so quickly

Where did the time go

I would have given my heart instantly

But I�m so glad you didn�t know

Not wanting to seem vulnerable

I came off self conscious

A notion that lead to feeling insecure

I wanted to call you pretentious

I caught myself writting a caption

I could probably write a mini-biography

It was just simple conversation

But it really made my night

You compliment my fresh skin

And the aqua hew in my light eyes

I start to write your story in pen

But the ink just doesn�t seem to dry

By : Kelly T.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*