- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, Jan. 05, 2004
10:22 P.M.

I'm excited now that I have another show to look forward to.

I just checked out the site for Matt Nathanson and he's planning on making a stop in Orlando next month. I'm pretty psyched!

He's touring with Oar, another band that I've been introduced to just recently. (Thank you Ashley even though you will never read this)

Ashley was the hostess at the old restaurant. She was my favorite of all the silly girls that captain Franco American decided to hire.

Of all the girls I worked with at the restaurant, I think Ashley has the most potential to be something wonderful. She has amazing aspirations, and even though she seems to have her head in the clouds I think she's got the determination to follow her dreams.

I remember the week before my trip to Chicago she approached me with a mixed cd that she had burned for me. It was filled with all of the music a road trip should be.

I admired her ability to put together the perfect compilation cd. The disk that she gave me provided the sound track to one of the most memorable trips in my life.

Ashley is probably up in Gainesville right now, finishing her degree that had something to do with foreign relations.

The disk she gave me was one of the best keepsakes I have ever received.

**(It ranks right up there with the necklace and silver ring that Laurent gave me in 7th grade, the Diary Amy left me before she went to Saudi, and the amethyst bracelet I got last Christmas)

I remember the night before I left for my trip to Chicago in July. She pulled me aside in the restaurant and we had a long conversation where she shared the reasons she chose each and every song for the perfect compilation.

I admired her heart-felt effort. It meant more to me than she will ever know.

I look at the box of keepsakes from the restaurant.

There's the little shoe from Hector, the cd Ashley gave me and an old check holder with the restaurants name on it.

I look back at my summer job and sometimes I even miss it just a bit.

It was a great job. I learned so much and met so many truly great people.

Just the other day when I went out to the mall I saw one of my old bosses, Carlos. He was standing outside the restaurant with Luis watching the people walking by.

I stopped to chat for a bit and they said that things have been very slow since I've left.

Luis said, "Kelly, you're lucky you have a real job. You're not missing much here, but we miss you."

It's a job I wont soon forget.

The people I met there inspired me to want to do great things.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*