- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Wednesday, Dec. 03, 2003
10:14 P.M.

I've been stressing about graduation.

Time is running out.

December 20th is right around the corner! It's a little over two weeks away and I need to finish my term papers.

*^*^*^*^*

Tonight I went into class. I was dreading the whole night, but I went anyway.

I spent all day working on this stupid paper for this class and the last thing I wanted to do was sit through a lecture.

I got to class and my professor was discussing the project that is going to be due next week. He wants me to do research on sound waves.

He says that there is a lot to learn and his lecture tonight really got me thinking.

He says that once you hit a certain speed, there is no sound. Sound completely stops.

"The speed of sound in air is approximately 331.5 m/s at 0 �C (or around 1200 km per hour)." ---- Trinklein, Frederick E. Modern Physics. New York. 1990: 256

My instructor also said that A concord jet can travel at the speed of sound. So when you travel that fast the only sounds you will hear are the sounds being made inside the concord. He said that there is no way that you can hear anything going on outside the jet because you are traveling faster than any sound that the jet makes.

HOLY CRAP!

He also said that there are these boxes that create a frequency or sound wave to combat sounds that occur naturally which cancels out sound all together. This box acts as noise control.

For example: If you had one of these boxes and a noisy barking dog, the box would make a sound wave that mirrors the barking dog, cancelling out all of the sound waves completely.

I was amazed.

I was amazed, yet very tired and looking for any excuse to leave class early.

Then my teacher started to explain another effect that would cancel out sound.

If you have an airtight room, then it is sound proof. Sound requires air to travel because it moves through sound vibrated waves.

You need air for sound, like you need water to swim.

You can't exactly swim to the other side of the pool if there is no water in the pool.

So if I fail my final, can I claim that the classroom didn't have enough air?

I mean forget being able to concentrate; there must have been something I missed in the discussion. Maybe I just didn't hear the instructor go over those last few problems because the air was too thin in the classroom? In turn creating a "NO AIR CLAUS".

It's only reasonable that one should try to apply the "NO AIR CLAUS" at least once in their many years of college.

Just think, "I knew I was having problems breathing when we were going over the exam review questions. I thought it was anxiety at first, but it turns out that there was hardly any air in the room."

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*