- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Saturday, Nov. 15, 2003
5:42 P.M.

I was bored and started to think back to the reception after the reception, or what you may call the post-party.

I went to the bar to meet up with my co-workers after the awards banquet on Thursday night.

I was standing there alone, in my long black dress, with my arms crossed and my face tilted towards the floor as I looked at my feet.

Lyle came over and pushed me, knocking me off balance. He smiled and then knocked my locked arms apart with his hand.

�You shouldn�t stand like that. It tells people not to approach you because you�re not up for conversation. We all know that you don�t think you�re too good for us, so just chill. Enjoy yourself. Relax. Be yourself! Have some fun.�

I stood up straight and looked straight ahead.

�You look AT me when I talk to you and I really like that. It tells me that you are listening to what I am saying.�

I was caught off guards by his comments. I had been given the same compliment about being a good listener about 2 hours before he approached me. I had been in the middle of a deep conversation with Brenda, and she told me that she really appreciated that I looked her in the face when we had our conversation. She said it made her feel like I was listening and I could relate to her.

The compliment made me feel good, because she was right. I had been listening very closely to everything she had said. Her stories inspired me.

I walked up to a group of reps and they gave me a warm welcome into their group. John asked what I had been drinking and I told him that I was just having water. He offered me a cranberry juice and I accepted.

Lyle made his way back over to our group and asked what I was drinking. I told him about the cranberry juice and he ordered the bartender to throw some vodka in there.

I got my drink and, DAMN, it was strong.

He advised me that having a little alcohol in me might loosen me up a bit.

I drank, I shared conversation, and I had a great time.

I learned so much about a group of people I thought I would never relate to.

Lyle told me stories about playing baseball for the big leagues before he came to our office and I was inspired by a story he told me about Cal Ripkin. Cal was always my inspiration when I played ball, so it was great to hear that he was so down to earth.

Linda told stories about working in her office.

Laura and Mike told me about Texas.

Santiago told me about his office south of here and how he started out in the business.

John gave a vivid description of his arena side office near Baltimore and I just listened.

It was great to get to know everyone better.

I actually felt comfortable talking to these people.

Everyone I spoke to shared my same affinity for Steven (my boss). He�s an amazing man, and without him none of us would be where we are today.

I�d like to say that while I was in O-Town, not only did I get to know my colleagues; I also made a few friends while I was out there, and I said goodbye to some of the insecurities that have been sitting on my shoulders for months now.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*