- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
9:47 P.M.

I never really read artist dedications.

Ok, maybe few and far between. I can recall reading the dedications and thank you pages for such bands as Tonic, Goo Goo Dolls, and Fionna Apple, but that was ONLY after I had met them in person.

I guess you can tell a little about a person if you read the "Thank You" column on the last page of a cd booklet.

I can recall reading the booklet encased within the jewel case for NSYNC when they broke free from their original management.

I guess I only read their dedications because of all the hype they talked on TRL at the time.

Tonight I read a dedication that actually seemed to stand for something.

He starts off by thanking God and then thanked the artists that participated on his album, but he also thanked one group of people in particular that caught me off guard.

After he thanked actors, clothing brands, and sponsors, he led into a thank you dedicated to the two men who put him into the trunk of his friends� car at gunpoint.

Gunpoint?

Did he just say gunpoint?

WOW!

After reading that phrase two thoughts came to mind.

One: The one night I drove out to meet James at Liquid Blue and got upset and walked myself to my car. Some bum was at my window and begged me to roll down my window. I was soaked in tears, eyeliner streaming down my face. I rolled down the window without thinking or looking at who was talking to me. I figured it was James. He pointed a cold barrel of a gun to my temple and ordered me to get out of my car. I didn�t flinch. I stepped on the gas, and he ran.

Before I could even think about what I had just done I had a sudden urge to puke.

I got about 2 minutes up the road and opened my door. I was already upset but the thought of having my brains blown out just after Christie had insulted me in front of her hoity-toity friends made me toss my cookies.

I balled my eyes out.

I was thankful to be alive, but I remember wondering what James would have done if he found me shot in the parking lot? Would him and his friends still be laughing?

I was so upset....

Thinking about it now makes me want to hurl.

*^*^*^*

The 2nd thought that comes to mind was a story that Kitty had told me. He said that he quit working at Cabbabbas shortly after he was held up at gunpoint.

I guess I would quit my job under the same circumstances.

It�s funny how things work out.

I wonder what would have happened if I had taken the time to think about giving my car up to a bum with a gun.

What if he would have pulled the trigger?

Who knows?

I never had much interest in reading dedications, but now that I�ve read BT�s dedication I�ve considered reading the other dedications written by some of my favorite bands. If I gave them a chance, maybe they too would have something interesting to say?

*^*^*^*^*^*

Man, nothing like a Thank You note to open up your eyes....

Thank God I�m still here�.

HOLY COW!..... BT is coming to town this weekend! ROCK ON!

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*