- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Sunday, Oct. 12, 2003
10:56 P.M.

I�m pretty sure that my parents are relieved that I didn�t follow every single dream my heart desired.

Specifically, I�m sure they are pleased that I didn�t follow the advice of my law studies instructor. He wanted me to be an agent for the F.B.I.

I took a law studies class my senior year of high school to avoid having to take more gym, or foreign language electives and it turned out to be one of the best classes I have ever taken. I also took it because secretly I wanted to be a lawyer.

My moms� family is full of lawyers and my sister is probably better cut out for that kind of job. She�s decided to go to grad school and study law after she finishes her engineering degree in the spring.

The study of law still intrigues me.

*^*^*^*

Tonight I was watching �Alias�. It�s the only show I�ve managed to pick up on this season. I love watching the story line that pertains to secret agents. That stuff is great.

Watching tonight took me back to high school.

It took me back to a moment where my professor had dared me to achieve the impossible. He promised a grade of 100% to any student that could turn in some additional evidence to cases that had been archived from the F.B.I.

I did my homework and accepted his challenge.

I ended up finding that needle in the haystack that he said no one would find. I brought him my research and he passed it on to his good buddy in Chicago.

It felt good to do something simply because someone told me it was impossible. It felt good to achieve some recognition.

My instructor offered to write me a letter of recommendation for any college I was going to attend, but I didn�t set my standards very high because money was always tight.

I may not have joined the F.B.I. but I DID get an A in the class. Not only did I attain an A, I managed to pull off 2 lunch breaks each day after I cracked the case. My teacher told me that it was a guaranteed A, so there was no point in me even showing up for class. 2 lunch periods? How could I say no?

*^*^*^*

I have to work again in the morning. My boss�s wife called tonight and said that she may need my help around the house tomorrow.

It feels good to be needed.

Well, maybe it just feels good to not have to be in the office. I feel so uncomfortable around the guys in the marketing department. They know so much more than I could ever imagine myself grasping when it comes to annuities.

Last week my brain was working at the speed of sludge. I kept saying stupid things at the most inappropriate time.

It seemed like every time I opened my mouth I stuck my foot in it.

In addition to sticking my foot in my mouth, I had a hard time concentrating.

I get confused when someone throws a pile of junk on my desk and demands that I finish a task that I haven't been trained on. Scott comes in and says, "Kelly I need you to blah, blah, blah, blah..." I just missed everything after, "Kelly I need you to__________." I didn�t listen very well and I spent a lot of time frustrated because I was trying to recall previous conversations where things were explained more clearly.

I haven�t been receiving very much training. The guys give me assignments and I run with them.

Mr. cannoli thinks I�m a total flake.

Last week when he gave me my list of agents to contact I waited too long to finish my phone calls and when I finally made them the agents were out of the office.

There was one phone call I made and I could have sworn it was a fax line.

Cannoli picked up the phone and dialed the number from the database and found that it wasn�t a fax line.

He placed the call on speakerphone.

After 3 rings the phone made a beeping, then a hissing noise as if to send a fax signal. After the hissing sound a recorded voice declared that the phone number that we had attempted to dial had been changed.

What the hell?

I appeared to be a total idiot.

Steve let loose on me. He totally made me feel like an ass when he said, "Kelly, when we listen, things work out for the better. I guess SOME of us are better listeners than OTHERS."

Ok, Ok, I suck!

I�m sure that if my law studies instructor were to walk into the office and tell my co-workers I was brilliant they would snicker and laugh.

Cannoli would roll his eyes and mumble a sarcastic, �Yeah right! Was that before, or after Kelly decided to donate her brain to science?�

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*