- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Thursday, Sept. 11, 2003
12:53 A.M.

I turned on my TV

The pictures sent chills through my bones

Just like a scene from a horror movie....

I held my stomach, and I groaned

Two towers bursting with flames

Symbolic in a display of power

Terrorists played a game

And shot down America�s twin towers

Darkness threatens us here

As evil infamy casts the first stone

I see the victim�s tears

As I bow my head, and groan

9 o�clock this morning

Took me by surprise

It came without a warning

Such a tragedy before my eyes

Ambulances race away

And this story becomes a milestone

Everyone has something to say

I shake my head, and groan

Moments later as I watched

These two monumental structures collapsed

Like a cowardly kick in the crotch

The same story was continuously recapped

School kids will ask a common question

�Am I safe at home?�

There is no perfect explanation

So you shuffle your feet, and groan

A scary story of horror

With rumors here and there

It took less than an hour

To figure that terrorism was out there

The president addresses the nation

Making it seem like no one is alone

I think of the people stuck on their vacations

I close my eyes, and I groan

I eat my dinner uninterrupted

As thoughts race through my head

Wondering why this world is corrupted

Why are innocent people dead?

Wondering what is really mine

Is there anything I truly own

When a terrorist crosses the line

I hold nothing close, and groan

Questioning my values

Thankful for what I have

Wondering what I can do

Wanting tangible security I can grab

Feelings are surreal

Almost like the twilight zone

Everyone relating the way they feel

Walking away, as we groan

Numbers are calculated

As death tolls start to rise

The same message is reiterated

�The U.S. was caught by surprise�

My home country

I call this country my own

Beauty and liberty

I stand up, and I groan

Hearing the angry response

More than pain and grief

They think they know what they want

They feel revenge will bring relief

The world will change

After what the day has shown

Schedules go rearranged

I slouch in my seat, and groan

Strangers come together

Donating blood and support

Trying to make others feel better

To offer some positive retort

Horrific pictures bring us pain

In the streets where some have never roamed

Now the nightmares still remain

I just roll over, and I groan

To think that our war was focused

On something like ignorance, violence, and drugs

Terrorism buzzes about like locusts

And with this thought, I offer you a hug

Because life will go on

Long after they have cast the first stone

Even though so many people are gone

I promise you will never be alone

The terrorism that has come around

Only brings us closer together

Terrorism won�t drag us down

But the memory may affect our hearts forever

By: Kelly T.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*