- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, Sept. 08, 2003
9:26 P.M.

I sat in the chair and handed Suzie a picture of a model with "perfect hair".

"Suzie, I like this hair. What can you do? Is my hair thick enough to pull this one off? I was thinking maybe you would have to take off an inch, maybe a 1/2.... "

I stalled and then continued,

"Maybe just a 1/4 inch because I just had it trimmed a few weeks ago."

She replied, "Sure Kelly. So you're going for the "Long bob with lots of longer layers?"

I said, "Sure Suzie, what ever you say!"

Suzie stalled for a minute and then went on to say, "Well Kell, this is definately something I can do!"

I sat up straight in the chair as she fastened the smock along the back of my neck.

I went on to ask her how she's been. I hadn't been to her salon in a while since Roy had offered to do so much, for so cheap in the past.

She went on to tell me that she's been doing well. Her son is growing more and more and work has been steady.

We talked about football, the restaurant, and then ended up talking about music.

MUSIC!

Now that's something I can talk about.

She told me all about the MTV music awards. She fed me all of the highlights that I had missed while I was working.

"Kell, you should have seen it. My girl got up on stage and kissed Brittany Spears, tongue and ALL!!"

She had so much excitement in her voice that built up more and more until she started talking about Metallica.

"Holy cow Kell! Metallica! My boys were on stage jamming out on the VMA's. You should have seen them. They did a combination of tunes and then they were cut off in the middle of their set. I was like, What the hell!?"

Time ticked by so quickly while we were chatting about music, our favorite bands, and all the great memories of concerts from the past.

We laughed about some of the fading trends and she said that she was almost finished. She turned my chair around to face the large full-size mirror and handed me the hand mirror to show me that it was even in the back.

"What do ya think!? You�ll definitely have to use a roller brush to keep it from flipping out like crazy."

I was shocked.

Holy cow!

"Is it short enough Kell?"

I thought to myself, "It hasn't been this short since.... I don't know?"

I'm not sure it's EVER been this short. My face hasn't looked so disproportionate to the rest of my body since I was a toddler.

Holy cow!

"Well, it's new! It's fresh! And I have a drawer full of roller brushes, and styling products that I haven�t used in years."

I smiled and handed her the small mirror.

She smiled and made her offer one more time, "If it's not short enough Kell, I can take off another inch? I really like your hair short, and I�m sure it would look just as good if we took a little more off the top."

"no, no, Suzie, it's great. Thanks!"

*^*^*

Maybe this new hairstyle is a blessing in disguise.

I got home and walked in the door.

Mom was standing at the entryway and loved the hair.

�Kelly, it looks so professional! Perfect hair cut for a corporate job!�

Well at least someone likes it�.

I�m sure I�ll get used to it. Not only will I get used to it, I�m going to LOVE it! Because I paid for this, and it's something that only an oversized UGLY hat could hide....

ha, ha....

If she were here I would still say, "Much love Suzie! You did a great job! I NEEDED a change."

:)

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*