- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Sunday, Sept. 07, 2003
8:20 P.M.

ANTS! ANTS! ANTS!

"Kelly! Ants! Ants! Ants! There are hundreds of them in the kitchen."

I was taking a nap when Chloe came running up to the room I had been resting in. She came up to warn me that there were ants invading the kitchen.

I was thinking, "Oh, just one more minute. Let me rest just one more...."

She grabbed my arm.

Ok, I'm up! I'm up!

She was so excited that she was huffing and puffing when she tried to explain what was happening down stairs.

"Kelly, I swear there are a hundred of them."

I walked through the kitchen and tried to guess where they were coming from.

I lifted up last night�s pizza box (that should have been in the garage dumpster).

I lifted the lid, and THOUSANDS; maybe MILLIONS of ants were invading the once fresh pizza.

There was a quarter of the pizza remaining and the ants had covered the surface area of the pie.

GROSS!!

Disgusting!

Logan was up stairs sleeping so he missed out on all of the action.

I picked up the box and took it out to the garage.

After the box was taken care of I still had about a million more ants to exterminate.

If Luis were there he would have slapped me for sure.

He believes in a "live and let live" philosophy that I have not yet adapted to.

I took out the cleaning spray and started bumping off ants by the hundreds.

There was a million-ant-march running through the middle of the kitchen, and they were all coming from one tiny hole in the wall.

I started wiping out the trail that they had followed into the house.

It's amazing. If you clean the trail that the caravan of ants had been following they lose the scent of the other ants and turn around as if they are lost.

I wiped out the trail, and the ant that was leading all of his friends just stopped as if he had forgotten where the final destination was. All the ants following the head ant kept walking and bumped into him. He turned around and started going back the other way, and the other ants soon followed.

When I went to wash off the sponge I had been cleaning with, it was doused in ant corpses.

Some ants survived the disinfectant and attempted to drive their teeth through my skin to the bone.

Damn! That hurt like hell!

I had to clean that silly ant trail a few times to discourage them from returning to the kitchen. I only hope that the kids' parents don't have to deal with the ants again in the morning....

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*