- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Wednesday, Sept. 03, 2003
12:03 A.M.

Next week Troy takes the plunge into growing another year older.

He's going to be the big TWO-FIVE!

We were talking about it a while back, and we had both hoped to have achieved a bit more by now.

In a few months I'll be 25, and I'm not sure I'll even want to celebrate. C'mon, I'll be a quarter of a century! A quarter of a century has come and gone, and just yesterday I turned 10.

I remember when I turned ten. It was a big deal because I had hit double digits.

Then there was 13, I could see PG13 movies without my parents.

Then 15, you get a drivers permit.

16, you can drive without mom and dad.

18, you can get into R rated movies, buy cigarettes, get into clubs, go off to college and a few other cool things....

Then there was 21.

WOW!

21.

"Can I please get a shot.�?

Sure, what can I get ya?

"Sex with the bartender?"

Ha, ha.... Sure thing! I get off around 2..

He poured me a shot and I threw my money up onto the bar.

He threw my money back at me, and bought another round.

I still can�t believe I fell for that silly line.

What the hell was I thinking?

(I wonder if he still remembers that night?)

My friends drug me up onto the bar and some strange HOT guy did a body shot off of my belly.

Woah, what the hell was that?!

That was a crazy 3 weeks!

We celebrated EVERY SINGLE NIGHT, for 3 whole weeks.

I got my partying stage out of my system early.

Then after 21, a few years later came 23, and as Blink 182 put it, "Nobody likes you when you're 23." I can't exactly say that I won the world over that year. The most memorable scene that year was seeing Tonic in concert for the bajillionth time!

ha...

The worst year yet was 23. The day that I turned 23, my parents told me that my dad had been diagnosed with brain aneurisms, and he would not be around to see me turn 24, let alone 25. He was going to have a very dangerous surgery, and there were no guarantees. He wouldn't come out of it the same, but without it, he would die within months, weeks, or even days. It was hard just finding a doctor to do the surgery because they were going to have to do work on his brain stem, along with other sensative areas of the brain.

Not only would he not be around for my 25th birthday, he wouldn't see my first child, he wouldn't walk me down the aisle, and he wouldn't live to see me graduate from college.

God, last year was tough.

I'm so happy that my dad is still around!

25, is a big deal. Who knows what I'll be up to this February, but I'm hoping it's memorable.

Sure, we're still young and we have a while to go before we die, but we wanted to be something MORE by now.

A year from now, I wonder where I will be?

I'm not going to be living at home with mom and dad.

I'm going to have a REAL job, I'll be living on my own, and hopefully I will have found someone to call my own.

It's a year from now.

I have a lot of work to do if I want to find something to make me feel more complete.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*