- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, Aug. 25, 2003
11:42 P.M.

Work went fine tonight. I didn't make much money but I'm not totally bummed.

I had one interesting table of doctors tonight. They had the private room in the back and they were discussing a new drug to ease the struggles of phobias and anxiety disorders.

I silently thought to myself, "I wish I could have cured my phobias caused by movies when I was a child."

Wow, I can think back to the intense anxiety I had as a child, and we didn't have drugs to treat stuff like that. Instead of drugs, I had cruel and unusual parents. After watching a horror flick, they thought it would be entertaining to torment me the best they could.

For example, after watching "Arachnophobia", I became terrified of spiders. One night after watching that movie dad left a plastic spider on my pillow. I screamed so loud. I jolted up and tried to smash the plastic bug. I was so scared that I almost peed the bed!

Even worse than spiders, I had an extreme fear of sharks, thanks to a little flick they named, "JAWS!"

I was watching television earlier today and saw a preview for "Jaws."

I remember the first time I saw that flick, and it scarred me for LIFE!

My parents actually let me watch that movie when I was just 7 years old. My dad took pleasure in lunging out at me when the Oboe music would announce that jaws was coming in for an attack.

Dad used to joke about it. He'd say, "What do you do if you hear Oboe music while you're at the beach?"

"GET OUT OF THE WATER!"... Duh..

I took that movie so literally as a child. I wouldn't go into the ocean for 10 years! I was terrified.

I wasn't only afraid of the ocean.

NO...

I was afraid to go swimming in my grandmother�s pool unsupervised. I was afraid to take a bath, and for weeks after watching the movie I couldn't even sit on the toilet unless I kept the door to the bathroom wide open so someone could hear me scream if Jaws came lunging out to bite my ass!

That movie was crazy!

After seeing the first �Jaws� as a kid, I watched all of the sequels. I wouldn�t go into the ocean, but I could watch all of the "Jaws" sequels.

What the hell is wrong with me!?

I don't think there was another movie on the face of the earth that affected my life so much.

I guess kids these days are pretty lucky. They can sit down and watch "Jaws" all day and all night, and if they get scared they can just pop a pill and kiss their anxieties good-bye!

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*