- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Sunday, Aug. 17, 2003
11:09 P.M.

I turned on the television and saw that there was a documentary about Nat King Cole.

Did I change the channel?

NO WAY!

****

My grandfather introduced me to the music of Nat King Cole.

(I�ve often thought about my grandfather lately. I miss him so much!)

This music rocks! Even as a child I could appreciate Nat�s ability to paint a picture in the songs he would sing. That man is an icon! His voice is absolutely amazing. His songs still manage to fill me with a warm and fuzzy feeling from my head to my toes.

As a kid I remember I used to idolize my grandfather�s era. I loved the music, the trends, and parts of the lifestyle. I had secretly wished I could have grown up to experience and see some of the things he had seen.

Nat King Cole was a huge part, and the best part of Christmas. Grandpa would throw on the record with "The Christmas Song", and it was officially Christmas in the house. The holidays have always been hard for me, but It's just not Christmas without Grandpa, and Nat King Cole.

WOW! This music brings back so many memories. Sometimes it's hard for me to listen to the song �Unforgettable�, without crying. That song is by far one of my all time favorites but it�s haunting. I hear that song and the hair all over my body stands on end. I could swear that I feel chills go through me, whispering to my bones.

�Mona Lisa�, is another memorable song that Nat sang so well. I remember listening to that song on my grandfather�s record player when I was just 4 years old.

We would sit in his living room and play records for hours on end, just listening and singing along.

I felt so close to him when he would sing that song to me over the music from the record player.

My grandfather had a fabulous voice himself. So it was no surprise that he was so popular in the choir.

Since he's been gone I haven't spent much time listening to the music he introduced me to.

I've packed away the Judy Garland, my classical favorites as well as Nat King Cole.

I got so tired of that music at one point in my life, and now I'm considering bringing it out to listen to it again....

This is great!

***

Watching this program I've realized, it�s been a while since I�ve heard this music, and I miss it.

I think I�m going to sign off for a bit to get lost in the music...

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*