- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Sunday, Aug. 17, 2003
1:14 A.M.

Ok tonight was longer than expected.

I got into work about 15 minutes early.

I was surprised when Amanda came running up to me as soon as I walked in the door. She grabbed my arm and said, "Great! You're here! Have I got some news for you Kelly! You will be working a bridal shower up stairs, with 15 pregnant moody chicks, ALL BY YOUR SELF! What fun!"

I could hardly contain myself

(Smell that? No it's not burn toast, it's sarcasm!)

I gathered everything together to set up the wait station up stairs.

We were short staffed again tonight so I didn't even have a bus boy to help out with the party.

The party up stairs lasted all night.

I spent a lot of time rushing to wait. I would hurry to get these women their hot plates, and then wait for them to finish eating.

I caught wind of one interesting story. One of the women had such a unique proposal from her husband.

This woman said that her husband took the dog to petsmart to get a new collar and ended up buying new tags for the dog while he was out. He kept urging her to check out the new tags and she thought he was crazy. She didn't see why new tags would be so special. Finally after he begged for about 15 minutes she made her way over to the dog. She read the new tag and it read, "Will you marry me?"

She started crying and it took her a few minutes to calm down.

She said yes before he even showed her the ring. He got down on one knee, and proposed. They were married a few weeks later and they've been married ever since.

****

Isn't romance great?....

Sure, but it usually sounds better when someone else is telling their stories about the romance in their life.

Most people think that romance can only take place when you are pleasantly surprised.

******

At the end of the night Maureen came up to tell me that Angel had been asking about me all night.

He kept asking her, "Where is Kelly? Where is Kelly?"

Maureen would tell him over and over again, and then he would ask if he could come up to help me.

I didn't see much of anyone tonight.

Everyone seemed to want to help, but there really isn't much they can do. They have to take care of their own stations down stairs.

The restaurant was filled with Celebes tonight, and everyone was stressed.

There was almost NO organization down stairs in the main dinning room, which led to mass confusion.

Most of the servers now are new people and they work a little slower than the older ones.

The kitchen was in the weeds all night long.

Business is booming, but there is no control over the crowd.

It was crazy all night.

Everyone down stairs told me to thank God because I didn't have to deal with all of that mess.

My big deal was waiting on cranky chicks all night.

My loss was the lack of tips at the end of the night.

I worked my ass off. I ran up and down stairs to deliver anything and everything they asked for and they didn't tip worth a crap!

At the end of the night I was ready to come home.

**

On my way out I said my goodbyes to everyone, and Maureen reminded me that some of the bus boys have their eye set on me.

****

When I made it out to my car I found that someone had left me a little note. I have no clue who could have left the note, and I'm not even sure what it read because it was soaking wet from the rain. If I had to go by the words that I COULD make out, the note didn't seem so friendly.

I guess I could fantasize and pretend it was a love note?

I could wish it were flowers instead of paper, and hope it was admiration, rather than a threat.

I guess I will never know.

***

The whole evening was full of surprises.

*****

I gave Maureen and Chris a ride home, and now I'm ready to get cleaned up to go to bed.

Maybe tomorrow will be better?

Maybe tomorrow will be a beach day?

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*