- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, Jul. 28, 2003
11:34 A.M.

I had another night filled with strange dreams�

I had a dream that I was in a crowd of people. I knew most of the people in the crowd but there were a few strangers here and there. Everyone was watching a stage waiting for a show to start.

A girl ran up to me and asked if I was Kelly. �Yup, that would be me.�

She ran off as if to go inform someone else.

A spotlight lit up the stage and the crowd roared. I heard a familiar voice announcing something over the loud speaker. Holy Cow! Is that really who I think it is? It sounds like James! At first I couldn�t see the stage but I pushed my way through the crowd until I could climb up onto some garden sculpture to get some leverage.

It was James. He was getting the crowd all revved up about something but I couldn�t hear what he was saying over the clapping and cheering.

Then a spotlight hit me and he yelled, �Kelly, this is YOUR life!�

Music started to play and the stage went dark again. The crowd was silent as they awaited the next part of the show. The spotlight went out above my head and everyone turned around to try to figure out where I was.

I paid close attention to the stage wanting to know what came next.

A larger crowd started to gather as the curiosity built.

I pushed my way closer to the stage and I heard another barrage of familiar voices. It was Lauren; she introduced herself and her husband. She opened with a few great one-liners from movies followed by her husband Matt�s laughter.

She went on to say, �I�ve known Kelly since 7th grade and I�ve never seen her so happy in my entire life! I remember when she came to my bridal shower. I have to tell you, it was nothing like this production. She�s done well for herself. She once promised me that she would never grow up and look at her. She�s getting married!�

Missy and Shanna were next.

Shanna said, �Kelly, she�s the craziest girl I have ever met. I remember the night she sang her Wayne Newton tune to a crowd of people from a balcony of a club in Ybor City. She�s a bucket of laughs. She will bring inspiration to her Mr. Wonderful.�

Missy laughed and told a story from high school, �I remember when Kelly was a freshman in high school. Her first memorable kiss took place on my stairs, which later led to a story called, �stairway denied.��

I had to laugh. My laughter triggered the crowd to seek me out once again.

Other people went up. I remember seeing Laureene on stage and wondering, �why is she up there. I hardly know that girl.� She told a story about having a class with me and being inspired to let go and just do stuff spontaneously.

Wow, I never knew I had an influence on anyone�

Then, Jason from work went up.

�I remember when she tried to hide the fact that she was dating Mr. Fluffy Kitty. We all knew. You can�t hide something like that, especially when Fluffy Kitty�s best friend has the biggest mouth on the planet. I�m happy you found someone to complete you. Maybe you will write about it someday and it will become a best seller.�

The lights went out and the crowd started to disperse a bit. A little girl ran up to me and gave me a sculpture of a joker. �I know it�s not like the ones you made in school but I wanted to give you something special.�

I was shocked. I was so pleasantly surprised.

I smiled and hugged the little girl.

She told me that I was the best elementary school teacher she had ever had.

I guess I was a little confused by the comment but I was still so happy.

I saw Joey go up on stage and he started to introduce guys I had dated in the past. He announced every broken heart in chronological order. I was surprised to see Vinny standing on stage with a big smile on his face.

These guys all had nice things to say. Now THAT was a surprise. I know in my heart that Vinny is still bitter to this day about the way things ended years ago, but it was nice to hear him say such nice things.

Another huge surprise was hearing Richie say that he will never be the same without me.

I was totally blown away.

After the parade of X�s made their way on stage there was a short list of guys I had met once upon a time. I never dated these guys but they expressed the desire to date me if I had changed my mind about getting married.

The crowd roared and the lights went out again. The lights came on and the music started again. Pete Yorn was live in concert. He brought out my husband to be. My chest was filled with a sudden refreshing burst of air.

I think the strangest part of the dream is that I had only met this guy once, but I was getting married to him. Strange but true.

(I never said dreams made sense)

After Pete finished his set Jason went back up on stage.

�And one last surprise for Kelly.�

Ben Affleck appeared. The crowd cheered.

Ben said, �I have never met miss Kelly but someone here loves her quite a bit. I think I would be missing out if I didn�t go on at least one date with this girl. She sounds pretty amazing.�

Slow music started playing. It was Marvin Gaye. �I know this song, It�s �Sexual Healing.��

Ben walked up and took my hands in his. My whole body was shaking. I was so nervous to share a dance with him in front of a crowd of people while my future husband just stood and smiled at me.

It didn�t matter. I was dancing with Ben and the whole time I was dancing I was thinking, I can�t wait to take Mr. Wonderful home with me.

The dance ended and I ran to the guy I was going to marry.

The crowd applauded as Ben closed the ceremonies by announcing, �Kelly, this is your life! Best Wishes and congratulations!�

The music chimed in again.

I woke up hearing the song �Crazy In Love�, by Bionce playing in the back of my head�.

�What the hell was that!?�

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*