- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Thursday, Jul. 24, 2003
12:09 A.M.

I took the long way home from school tonight. I took the more scenic route.

I popped in my Bush cd and listened to �glycerine�.

The smell of the ocean breeze with the windows down was great. It almost smells like fall. The air is cooling down a bit now that the sun is gone, but the humidity is still rich in the air.

Driving with the windows down listening to Bush brought back memories of high school. I remember I used to sneak out late at night and drive down to the causeway with Wes, Chip, and sometimes Corey.

Those guys had powerful persuasion. Maybe they didn�t even have persuasion; maybe it was more like the power of suggestion.

I would do almost anything if it meant me not being bored....

My friends would say, �Hey Kell, why don�t you sneak out your window and we�ll go hang out. We�ll drive around town aimlessly until the sun comes up.�

Of coarse it was a great idea! It made me feel somewhat rebellious, in this small town where nobody knows my name.

I was overcome by a memory of one particular day in high school.

I had spent the whole week sneaking out my window to hang out at Chip�s with Heidi or Amy.

I was grounded so the time I spent over at their place while my parents slept was the only social interaction I had other than the lunch room at school.

Well one day Wes called. He asked if I�d come by to play pool.

Wes, I�m grounded. Duh!.

�Well sneak out your window and ride your bike over here. Your parents won�t know the difference.�

Mmmm

Ok, sounded like a good idea, but it was the first AND THE LAST time I snuck out of the house in broad day light.

One point I forgot to mention.

Since I was grounded I decided to dye my hair GREEN. Yes, I said green. It was bright bluish greenish, Teal to be exact!

So I snuck out, rode my bike to Wes�s house.

I walked up to the door and his mom answered. She looked at me like I was Michael Jackson. I had totally forgotten that I dyed my hair.

I asked her, �what?!�

She just laughed and walked me to the couch.

I sat down and she said Wes would be back soon.

I felt like such an idiot sitting on the couch.

She offered me a ham sandwich and I wasn�t big on ham. I politely accepted and waited for Wes to get home.

Finally he walked in with Corey. They both looked at me and did a double take. They laughed for what seemed like an eternity.

I went back to Wes�s room and sat on the bed eating part of his ham sandwich. He went out to the kitchen to bitch about me eating his ham sandwich and I over heard his mom asking him, �What does her mother think of this?�

Of what?

�Her hair!�

I just laid there listening to Bush.

I got up and tried to walk myself out. I ended up playing a game of pool with the guys in the garage.

Eventually I made my way home and ended up getting hit by a car on my ride home.

How the hell do you explain a broken bike when you are supposed to be grounded?

I walked my bike home, crawled in my window and swore off sneaking around�.

Well I swore off sneaking around until that night because I wouldn�t need my bike to get around if Corey was going to pick me up�

;)

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*