- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2003
11:57 P.M.

An old man once told me,

"Be careful, it's dumb out there..."

I didn't really understand what he was talking about, but the more I learn, the more I almost understand.

Have you ever tried to have a conversation with a wall? I have. I've been in classes with people who hold all the intelligence of a wall.

There is a girl in my science class who is afraid to think for herself. She is actually my lab partner. She doesn�t really do any work at all; she just copies my answers in hopes to make good grades. She originally sat next to me because she said I �Looked� smart.

Well isn�t that lovely.... *Well, I hope she's happy with a C+ Average*

There are so many students I have met lately who just appear ignorant, as if they know SOME little THING about everything, and they just don't care to learn anything more. They act as if their brain has reached it's full capacity for knowledge, and the thought of learning anything new may cause their brain to fry within it's skull....

I had to take a personality test last year for work and it asked me if I felt I was professional. Professional meaning, I knew everything there was to know about my job title and I could apply it appropriately. I realized that I was perfectly good at "acting" professional, but I wasn't a professional at anything I did in my life...I never knew how little I knew until I was asked to answer that question. When it asked me how much time I spend perfecting my craft I couldn't honestly count the hours I had dedicated to any one craft. Now I strive to know more about everything....

But if you know something is wrong and choose to still ignore the consequence, what is your deal? Why do people do things for no reason?

After reading �The Stranger� I find it hard to do things for no reason. I find it harder to understand the term �Victim of circumstance�.

Just ask Bill Cosby. He had a few kids who struggled with doing things without thinking. It's so funny to hear his stand up. He asks his kids, "Why did you do it?

And his daughter or son replies, "I don't know..."

When was the last time you did something for no apparent reason?

Well Kitty would like to believe that I am annoyed for no reason.

Fine....

I still think he has selective hearing.

*****

I've been reading a lot more lately since I started school again for the summer.

I was reading a new book and it actually had the same quote I had heard over 10 years ago.

All of a sudden a light of insight hit me. It suddenly made sense,

"Be careful, it's dumb out there..."

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*