- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Wednesday, May. 21, 2003
4:17 P.M.

Yesterday while in traffic I noticed these two guys in a jeep. They were making it painfully obvious that they were staring right at me.

I tried to ignore them when I saw them out of the corner of my eye, but my eyes drifted over wondering if they had a familiar face.

I recognized the guy in the passenger seat. The straw hat, that curious smile, and the oddness that followed after I realized I know him from somewhere.

I drove off and thought about it for about 20 minutes and then his face was gone from my memory.

My G*d it�s been so long. Could that have been him?

Could he be on my side of town? What brings him to this side of the bay?

Where was his one and only?

Then as quickly as it began, the thought was over.

I need to focus on school�

Today while I was driving to school I was at another stoplight. Once again I saw that familiar face. The two guys were at a cross street staring at me once again.

I looked over and saw him smile.

Could that be him? Damn, I need contact lenses�

Surprisingly I was able to concentrate in the lab. But now I�m stuck here wondering.

Was that him? Who else could be so intrigued by my smile when I appear like I haven�t showered for days�

It�s not the first time�

Last night at the bar I wondered off to the bathroom and almost literally ran into another familiar face.

I couldn�t remember his name so I didn�t stop to say hello.

I could describe him as a mix between John Favroe and Keith with the talent and skills of Eddie Vedder.

Shawn, Shawn is his name. He briefly resided at the beach house where we would party in high school. There was one night where the power went out. Dan was having a party, but as soon as the power when out, the party died down.

Shawn lit candles in the living room and a couple of us gathered on the couches to sing along with the songs he sang.

I remember like it was yesterday,

We sang,

�I seem to recognize your face

Hauntingly familiar I can�t seem to place it

Cannot find the candle of thought to light your name

Lifetimes are catching up with me

All these changes taking place

I wish I�d seen your place

No one�s ever taken me

Hearts and thoughts they fade

Fade away

Hearts and thoughts they fade

Fade away�.

���

*********

It�s odd when you�re stuck upon the shelf

I change by not changing at all

Small town predicts my fate

Perhaps that�s why no one wants to see

I just want to scream

HELLO!

My God it�s been so long

Never dreamed you�d return

But now here you are

And here I am�

Heart and thoughts they fade away��

I have never felt the lyrics of that song so much as I do just now realizing how much things have changed. How much I have wanted to see either one of those guys.

The last I had heard Shawn had a successful band, he had broken things off with Kelly, but moved on to another wonderful relationship.

The other guy in the jeep, I just can�t conclude for sure that it was James, but that hat is unmistakable.

If it wasn�t James, he sure had great taste in accessories�

Ha, ha�.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*