- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, Feb. 24, 2003
1:20 P.M.

I was listening to an old Nine Inch Nails cd and the lyrics made me laugh out loud....when I heard...

"What I used to think was me, is just a faded memory...."

I started the song over to listen to it more closely...

He sings about being up above something and how good it feels...Doing that would normally be bad for you but it feels too good to pass up...

"HEDONISM!!!!~ 1 : the doctrine that pleasure or happiness is the sole or chief good in life...Avoiding all pain and losing yourself in pleasure!!"

THAT!! That is my problem.....

He sings about how good it is ....

When you aren't thinking of the consequences.

He sings....

"Kinda like a cloud, I was up way up in the sky, and I was feeling some feelings you wouldn�t believe, sometimes I don't believe in myself and I decided I wasn't coming down..."

"Just then a tiny little dot caught my eye....I watched it way too long and it was pulling me down...."

"I was up above it, I was up above it, now I'm down in it!"....

"Shut up! So what does it matter now I was swimming in the haze and now I crawl on the ground, and everything I never liked about you is kinda seeping into me, try to laugh about it now, but isn't it funny how everything works out, I guess the jokes on me.....

She said, I was up above it....now I�m down in it..."

I thought about how I get myself into certain situations that are bad for me feeling like I'm invincible

Then he sings,

"I used to be so big and strong, I used to know my right from wrong, I used to never be afraid....I used to be somebody!....

I used to have something inside and now it's just this hole it's open wide, I used to want it all...I used to be somebody..."

"What I used to think was me is just a fading memory....I looked her right in the eye and said goodbye..

Rain rain go away, come again some other day....."

I do love this cd�.It�s one of the first tastes of electronic music I found in grade school� I remember my skater buddies loved this stuff. I found myself obsessed with it� NIN became one of my favorite bands back in the day�. And this cd was my favorite� �Pretty Hate Machine..� In all of it�s madness and controversial lyrics�. I loved it�

Now today, I listen to it and try to talk myself out of hedonism, but it just comes so naturally�

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*