- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, Dec. 23, 2002
1:36 P.M.

Somebody call Ripleys, I think we've got a live one.....

There is a funk in my system that is making my body act in ways that are just not HUMAN!

When I walked in, the first thing the nurse did was take my weight. She looked back at my chart from last Wednesday. "It's looks like we've lost 11 lbs in just over a week. You've gatta be sick." We walked back to an empty room and the nurse took my temp. and she said it was only 95 degrees. "That can't be right,you would be dead, let me go get the ear reader..."

I sat there waiting on the table with the deli-paper table cloth drapped over it, in my gown with the back wide open. My body aches and the lights are too bright.The air is chilly and silent. I am the first patient this morning. The air smelled dry and much like the doctors office that I went to as a kid.

She came back in and stuck this thing in my ear and I heard a click. "well, I don't know what is wrong here. You had a fever this morning? and now you're reading 95 degrees. I know this one is right, so what the heck is going on here! It can't be right,.....you would be dead? right?"

She proceeded to taking my pulse and my blood pressure. She said my pulse was very slow, and my blood pressure was very, very low.

I was light headed and I just wanted to close my eyes.

I told her all my symptoms,

It hurts to swollow anything, even air. My ears keep crackling, My chest is heavey and I can hardly breathe, the sinus pressure makes me feel like my head is going to pop at any second, and my energy is completely zapped........"

The doctor walked in. He had dark hair and dark eyes. A younger guy who was very analytical. He did not agree with the first antibiotic that MY doctor had prescribed for me. He said it was no wonder I am still sick.

He went on to ask questions about allergies and asthma. He asked what I had already attempted to take on my own, and he was surprised that the echinacia had no effect on this funk. He told me that all he could do was give me more meds. or put me in the hospital. He gave me meds. and hopes that it works before Christmas. Christmas Eve is tomorrow, there is no chance this stuff is going to work it's magic before Wednesday

He also went on to warn that he couldn't do much about my asthma and that his office will be closed until Friday if I have any problems. Then he went on to say a little more, he basically told me that even the antibiotic may not help because it sounds like this funk is making its way down into my lungs. So, more than likely I get to spend this Christmas Eve hooked up to machines that hiss and beep, with IV's and a breathing machine....

I came straight home after I dropped off the prescriptions and mom went to pick them up while I slept.

I had the worst nightmares and woke up sweating again.

I feel like shit.

I wish I were well.

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*