- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

2002-10-13
6:23 p.m.

Today was the dreaded baby shower. My first and last baby shower. We all met at John Chestnut Park. I had food, games and room for plenty of fun. The only thing that I didn't plan for was the.....LIGHTNING!

Oh my god!

For the first 30 min we had a ball. Then the thunder came rolling in, with plenty of rain. We decided to stick it out in Shelter #8. We figured that the shower would be over shortly.

WRONG-O!!

There was a Greek picnic party of about 12 people sharing the shelter with us. They ended up turning over picnic tables to block the harsh wind. We couldn't weigh anything down; the wind even blew our cooler full of junk across the pavement.

So about 5 girls and 2 kids cuddled up together trying to preserve any heat that we could. It was soooo cold, windy, and rainy!

We saw lightning hit the surrounding shelters and we figured we would be next. The lightning was so close, and so bright that it hurt my eyes to look at it. It hurt to see it out of the corner of my eyes when I tried not to focus on it.

The kids were screaming, shrieking, and crying. I don't blame them. I wanted to cry. We were under this huge shelter and everything that we had brought was ruined.

The very next break that we had we packed everything up and ran as fast as we could to the car. We could see the approaching wall of water on the lake. There was lightning everywhere. I was completely exhausted once I reached my car. My car alarm would not disarm because it had gotten too soaked by the rain. I was standing there begging and pleading with it trying to get into my car. I finally just tried to bypass the alarm and unlock the door. When I opened the door the alarm was screeching! It totally sucked!

I started to think about how many people I have been pissed at....How many people I wished would be hit by lightning...

I felt a little guilty when I realized that everyone I ever wished could be hit with lightning has actually been struck by lightning at least once...If it wasn't lightning, it was a fire, or some other unexpected disaster...I figure that karma may come around and kick my ass any day now, so why not today right?

WRONG-O!

I made it to the car safe and sound.

Heidi, Tammy, Mary, and I headed to Joes' to finish off our little party....We ate cake and played some games. The party truly ended with a bang when most of the other people from the party headed for home. When we reached Joes' house the power was out from the storm...so we spent even more time just relaxing...

Mary gave me a bracelet that is supposed to help my heart. She used to work in "The Crystal Connection", an alternative store where they sold tarrrot cards, crystals, and books of philosophy and witchcraft....

Over all, the party was a complete bust thanks to the storm. I think Heidi should definitely consider naming her son Storm instead of Raven....

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*