- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

2002-10-05
2:34 p.m.

Dearest Diary

What is in a name??

Today, Today�..Well.

Today my name went from Kelly To Kelly Ann once again.

My uncle Kelly came into town last night and now every single time I am addressed by a family member they are calling me KellyAnn as if it were one word. Ann is my middle name. �

My uncle Kelly is the greatest. He's always got the greatest stories. He's very political and believes that everyone should take a stand on something. He seemed kinda bummed when I told him I didn't vote in the last primary election. He takes stuff like that very seriousely.

I said, "Hey, I've read "The Stranger", I know what could happen to someone that doesn't take a stand on anything". It's a great book about a guy who doesn't really make choices, and he just lives life by the seat of his pants with no real passion. He later finds that not making a choice that you can stand by is still making a choice, and it eventually gets him killed.

My uncle Kelly has a son named Kelly, and family members call him Kelly Michael, to keep from confusing him with Uncle Kelly, and Kelly Ann....We must have had a name shortage in the late 70's and early 80's.

There are even more Katy's in the family than there are Kelly's, but they have a different variation of the same name or they spell the same name completely differently. Caitlyn, Katy, Katie, Kathy, etc....

When I have kids I'm going to think of a name that no one had ever used in the family. That way they won't have to use their middle name just to have an identity in the family.

A good name can be marketable, and can build a good or bad reputation. Reputation is sadly a big part of who other people see me as. So, If my kids are going to build a reputation around their name, at least I'm going to name them something original to build on.

My family finds that education is going to get you every where you want to be. Likes it the Visa card commercial.

Education=It's every where you want to be!

For example.

My uncle told me a story about my cousin last night. How Kelly Michael had rented a house with his friends in college. THey tore that place up and the land lord sent them an itemized bill for all of the damage. So like the visa commercial would say something like this:

"Broken Door=$200.00

Paint for the walls= $400.00

New Carpet= $1,200.00

Returned security deposit=$0.00

The education that Kelly recieved in college=Priceless"

I would have said that the memories and the friends you meet in college are priceless. I have come to learn the hard way that it's not always what you know, it's who you know dammit!

Knowing my Trigonometry and Chemistry is not going to get me back stage to a Tonic Concert. It's not going to get me hired in a prestigious law firm, and it's definately not going to get me published in the "Rolling Stone" Magazine! You have to network. Meeting new people can get you a lot of places. No one wants to spend their time alone at the top. They are always looking for that "FresH" person to take care of them at the top. I don't know if solely my education has helped me to become the person I am today.

I do have educated opinions and I can debate almost any topic forever and a day. I love to read, and I think that learning something new every day is a MUST! I am thankful for what I have learned in the past but I wish someone would have told me that, "It's not always what you know that gets you in, It's usually who you know". No one in my family could have stressed that statement enough!

Experiences are just as important as the education on about 3 days out of my 7 day work week!

I see so many of my friends going to school for web design, but they haven't made enough connections to actually get hired or start their own business out of school, so often, my friends give up on their dream and end up doing something that they are not as passionate about, but it brings in the money.

I've taken so long to finish school because I am not sure "Who" I want to be. I hate math! What I want to do with my life has nothing to do with math or chemistry..

If I had a million dollars and all the connections in the world I would be traveling and writting for the "Rolling Stone" magazine, and I would probably have my own radio or television show on late at night for the fans' of bands. A show where the bands could say exactly what they wanted to tell them without being sensored....But I would probably only interview the bands that I listen to and respect, so that would add a sense of sensorship in the begining...

I guess that over all, this trip that Kelly made to see my parents was great! I didn't get to spend much time with him but He reminded me about how it is important to be passionate about something. It doesn't matter if others agree with you. Taking a stand makes sure that you passion may still be there the day after tomorrow...He made me think about how I want to reread one of my favorite books. . I SHOULD go out and register to vote, and do some more research to find out what I COULD be voting for. At least if I'm registered I have the option to vote....

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*