- - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2008
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
I Need Your Email Address... - Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007
What Is It?... - Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Monday, May. 01, 2006
6:31 P.M.

Relentless:
Showing or promising no abatement of severity, intensity, strength, or pace: Unrelenting.
Function: adjective

All I can say about the situation is that those around me have become more and more relentless.


I mean, those around me have been relentless in their attempts to get me �hooked up�.
Today after lunch, the girls from work came to my desk and gave me the number for �Starbucks Tony� from last Friday�s office incident. They told me to call him and meet him some time soon for coffee.


I guess after coming by the office on a whim, he felt a little intimidated when I didn�t pick up the phone and call him over the weekend. But mom was in the hospital and this �blind date� drive that my friends have going on has made me a bit uncomfortable.
Just because I�m single, doesn�t mean I�m miserable.


I don�t know that I can honestly ever trust a guy again.


I found it odd that another one of my buddy�s burned me a copy of the song, �God Bless The Broken Road�, as she stressed that breaking up could be the best thing that has happened to me all year long.


How do you skip the �hello, how ya doin?� and jump straight into, �Hey, let me hook you up with So and So��.


Or, �I think the two of you have a lot in common. Let me set you up!�
I know they have the best intentions, and I love them to death. I just find it strange that my love life, or lack there of, has become the �hot topic� on the minds of strangers who usually don�t pay me much attention.


I was also a bit shocked to find a news article on my desk this morning titled, �10 Signs Your Date Is A Keeper.�


I appreciate the effort these people are putting into trying to fixing my problem, but it�s strange and somewhat distracting.


It�s been a while since I�ve been on a date with a new man, but I�m pretty sure I can tell if he�s going to be a �keeper�. However, the article was actually very interesting. It advises people to let go of the ideal �romance� they may have lingering in the back of their mind, and concentrate more on �intimacy� that is based more upon someone�s character.
The girls also mentioned that the best part of breaking up, is finding someone new that you can�t get enough of.


So far�.


I�ve found a lot of strange people, or guys that can�t be trusted, and nothing that really sticks yet.


Maybe I should just give �Starbucks Tony� a chance after all�.


Edith and Ruby sure seem to love him.
: )

0 speak your mind

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*I LOVE POETRY*